Rough diamonds

Definition

A rough diamond is a diamond that is unworked or simply sawn, cleaved or bruted and falls under the SH code 7102.10, 7102.21 and 7102.31 in the tariff classification.

Obligations and controls

To import a shipment of rough diamonds in the European Union (EU), the shipment must be transported in a tamper-resistant container accompanied by an unfalsifiable Kimberley Process certificate (KP certificate) issued by the exporting country and validated by the competent EU authority, a certificate that guarantees that the diamonds are not used to finance a conflict. If these conditions are met, the EU authority will provide a certificate of compliance to the importer; in the opposite case, the shipment will be retained.

To export a shipment of rough diamonds from the EU, it must be transported in a tamper-resistant container accompanied by an unfalsifiable KP certificate delivered by the competent community authority.

The Control office for exports, imports and transit of the Ministry of the Economy will then verify the proof of purchase (a copy of the invoice or the pro forma invoice) and the KP certificate to deliver the import or export authorization. The diamonds will remain in the possession of the competent Community authority until the import or export authorization has been obtained.

Outside of this procedure, the import and export of rough diamonds is prohibited.

Note: There are only six competent authorities in Europe that can deliver an unfalsifiable KP certificate. These are located in Antwerp, Prague, Idar-Oberstein, Lisbon, Bucharest and London.

The Diamond Office of Antwerp or Zollamt Idar-Oberstein are the authorities closest to Luxembourg that operators can call upon.

Related documents

International shipments of rough diamonds must be accompanied by:

Related procedures

The following procedures are described on the Guichet.lu website:

Related organizations

In Luxembourg, the Control office for exports, imports and transit of the Ministry of the Economy delivers import and export authorizations for rough diamonds.

Last update

Diamants bruts

Définition

Un diamant brut est un diamant non travaillé ou simplement scié, clivé ou débruté et qui porte le « code SH » 7102.10, 7102.21 et 7102.31 dans la classification tarifaire.

Obligations et contrôles

Pour qu’un chargement de diamants bruts soit importé dans l’Union Européenne (UE), il doit être transporté dans un conteneur inviolable et accompagné d’un certificat du système de certification du Processus de Kimberley (certificat KP) infalsifiable, émis par le pays exportateur et validé par l’autorité communautaire compétente, certificat qui garantit que les diamants ne servent pas à financer un conflit. Si ces conditions sont remplies, l’autorité de l’UE fournit un certificat confirmé à l’importateur; dans le cas contraire, le chargement est retenu.

Pour qu’un chargement de diamants bruts soit exporté depuis l’UE, il doit être transporté dans un conteneur inviolable et accompagné d’un certificat KP infalsifiable délivré par l’autorité communautaire compétente.

Ensuite, l’Office du contrôles des exportations, importations et du transit du Ministère de l’Economie vérifie la preuve d’achat (copie de la facture ou facture proforma) et le certificat KP pour délivrer l'autorisation d’importation ou d’exportation. Les diamants restent en possession de l’autorité communautaire compétente jusqu’à l’obtention de l'autorisation d’exportation ou d’importation.

En dehors de cette procédure, l’importation et l’exportation des diamants bruts est interdite.

A noter : Il n’existe en Europe que 6 autorités compétentes pour délivrer un certificat KP infalsifiable. Celles-ci sont situées à Anvers, Prague, Idar-Oberstein, Lisbonne, Bucarest et Londres.

Le Diamond Office d’Anvers ou le Zollamt Idar-Oberstein sont les autorités les plus proches du Luxembourg auxquelles les opérateurs peuvent recourir.

Documents liés

Les envois internationaux de diamants bruts doivent être accompagnés :

Démarches liées

Les démarches suivantes sont décrites sur le site du Guichet.lu :

Organisations concernées

Au Luxembourg, l’Office du contrôles des exportations, importations et du transit du Ministère de l’Economie délivre les autorisations d’importation et d’exportation pour les diamants bruts.

Dernière mise à jour