Authorized economic operator (AEO)

The Authorised Economic Operator (AEO) concept was adopted in the wake of the 11 September 2001 attacks. Its aim was to strengthen the security of commercial trade. Under the aegis of the World Customs Organization, customs authorities developed a worldwide strategy to protect international trade, an indispensable source of economic wealth for the Countries. The goal of this strategy was to:

  • develop a regulatory environment for trade favourable to reliable economic operators and
  • strengthen the security of the international supply chain.

In addition to legal benefits concerning customs and security, the AEO authorisation invites companies to adapt their organisation to customs processes. The authorisation helps assess and control the procedures of the AEO company, thus resulting in better internal control and communication between services. Moreover, it also helps optimise processes in logistics and customs formalities.

The AEO authorisation also promotes better relations between the customs authorities and the AEO company based on mutual trust. International recognition of the authorisation gives a competitive advantage to the AEO company, since trade with another AEO-certified company is easier to conduct.

In Luxembourg, the point of contact for AEO matters is the Customs and Excise Administration. For details on the conditions and formalities linked to obtaining the authorisation, please visit its official website.

Last update

Opérateur Economique Agréé (OEA)

Le principe de l’Opérateur Économique Agréé (OEA ou AEO - Authorised Economic Operator) a été instauré suite aux attentats du 11 septembre 2001 visant à renforcer la sécurisation des échanges commerciaux. Sous l’égide de l’Organisation Mondiale des Douanes, les autorités douanières ont élaboré une stratégie mondiale de protection du commerce international, source indispensable de richesse économique pour les États, le but étant de :

  • développer un environnement de régulation des échanges favorable aux opérateurs ‎économiques fiables et
  • renforcer la sûreté de la chaîne logistique internationale.

En plus des avantages légaux sur le plan douanier et sécuritaire, l’autorisation d’AEO invite les entreprises à adapter leur structure aux processus douaniers. L’autorisation permet d’évaluer et de contrôler les procédures de l’entreprise AEO, ce qui aboutit corrélativement à un meilleur contrôle interne, à une meilleure communication entre les services et à l'optimisation des processus sur le plan de la logistique et des formalités douanières.

L’autorisation AEO promeut également une meilleure relation entre les autorités douanières et l’entreprise basée sur la confiance mutuelle. Sur le plan international, la reconnaissance de l’autorisation apporte un avantage concurrentiel, car le commerce avec une autre entreprise certifiée AEO se déroulera plus aisément.

Au Luxembourg, le point de contact en matière d’AEO est l’Administration des douanes et accises. Tous les détails concernant les conditions et les formalités liées à l’obtention de l’autorisation peuvent être consultés sur son site officiel.

Dernière mise à jour