International rankings

For more details on Luxembourg's international rankings, you can consult the following link [Fr]:                https://odc.gouvernement.lu/fr/statistiques/benchmarks-internationaux.html

 

 

Luxembourg ranked in the top 20 globally for its logistics capabilities

Luxembourg has been ranked sixteenth globally with a score of 3.84 by the World Bank's logistics performance index for 2018, published as part of the sixth edition of its biannual Connecting to Compete study.

The index, headed by Germany with a score of 4.19, measures countries' commercial logistics capabilities on a scale of one to five.

Source: The World Bank 

 

 

 

Supply-chain resilience index: Luxembourg a leader ranked 3rd worldwide

Supply chain risk is a major concern for business, particularly those working across borders. Businesses come to Luxembourg for its expertise in managing these risks and turning them to commercial advantage. This skill is reflected in the 2021 Resilience Index published by the consultants FM Global, with Luxembourg ranked 3rd in the world.

A total of 130 countries were analysed, looking at the state of their economies (productivity, political risk, oil dependency), overall risk levels (the prevalence of natural hazards and management systems), and the supply chain robustness (corruption, infrastructure, supplier quality). Taking all these metrics as a whole, Luxembourg scored 96.7 out of a maximum 100.

Concerning in particular the three sub-categories composing the general composite index, Luxembourg ranks as follows:

  • Economy – Luxembourg ranks 1st worldwide (100): productivity (100), political risk  (92.5), oil dependency in the economy (72.1), urbanisation rate (84.6);
  • Risks - Luxembourg ranks 15th worldwide (84.6): exposure to natural hazard risks (95.8), potential for improvement in natural hazard risk management (63.7), fire risk management (76.9), cyber risk (56.8);
  • Supply chain - Luxembourg ranks 25rd worldwide (79.6): corruption control (98.4), infrastructure quality (84.8), corporate governance (63.3), supply chain visibility (69.7).

Find out more about Luxembourg's ranking in the resilience index.

 

Luxembourg competitiveness ranked 12th in the world

Luxembourg has been placed 12th in the 2021 edition of the World Competitiveness Yearbook ranking compiled by Lausanne-based business school International Institute for Management Development.

Luxembourg scored highly in areas including international trade (7th in the world), productivity & efficiency (6th), finance (10th ), or business legislation (6th).

Read more about Luxembourg's ranking [pdf], in press release (Chamber of Commerce Luxembourg).

Find out more details.

Luxembourg among world's top countries in global innovation index

 

Luxembourg has been ranked 18th out of 131 countries worldwide in the latest Global Innovation Index compiled by Cornell University and the World Intellectual Property Organisation.

Luxembourg is placed fourteenth globally (10th in the EU) in the Innovation Output sub-index and third for creative outputs. 

The reports presents the following observation concerning Luxembourg:

 

  • "Relative to GDP, Luxembourg’s performance is above expectations for its level of development.
  • Luxembourg produces more innovation outputs relative to its level of innovation investments.
  • GII strengths for Luxembourg are found in six of the seven GII pillars. In detail, Luxembourg shows strengths in the indicators Political and operational stability, Tertiary inbound mobility, ICT access, Environmental performance, Venture capital deals, Knowledge-intensive employment, Patent families 2+ offices, Intellectual property payments, Cultural & creative services exports, National feature films and Generic top-level domains.
  • GII weaknesses for Luxembourg are found in all GII pillars. In detail, Luxembourg exhibits weaknesses in the indicators Cost of redundancy dismissal, Tertiary enrolment, Graduates in science & engineering, QS university ranking, Electricity output, Gross capital formation, Ease of getting credit, High-tech imports, Growth rate of PPP$ GDP/worker and Creative goods exports."

Find out more about Luxembourg's ranking in the Global Innovation Index [pdf].

 

Luxembourg 10th in Digital Economy and Society Index in Europe

Luxembourg ranks 10th out of 28 EU Member States in the Digital Economy and Society Index (DESI) 2020, lower than in the previous year.

Based on data prior to the pandemic, significant progress is observed on digital public services, rising two positions in the ranking, mainly thanks to digital public services for business and pre-filled online forms of public services. Likewise, Luxembourg improves one position in the ranking on connectivity. By contrast, although it remains above the EU average, Luxembourg’s ranking fell on the human capital dimension. On integration of digital technology, Luxembourg’s ranking also fell one position and as in previous years it remains below the EU average. The indicator that saw the greatest fall is in the use of internet services dimension, from 9th to 12th position, though it remains very close to the EU average.

In digital public services, Luxembourg has made major progres. It now ranks 14th in the EU, significantly improving its score to more than 1 point higher than the EU average.

Source: European Commission.

More details.

 

A good quality of life for expats in Luxembourg

The worldwide expat community InterNations has ranked Luxembourg City 18th out of 66 cities around the world in Expat Insider, an annual survey based on the views of expatriates.

Luxembourg scores highly for quality of life, peacefulness, political stability and is the best for a strong economy and security of employment.

Find out more about Luxembourg City ranking in InterNations [pdf].

More information about Environment and Sustainability in Luxembourg.

 

University of Luxembourg ranks 3rd worldwide for its “international character”

The University of Luxembourg is ranked 20th among the best young universities in the world, according to the latest Time Higher Education (THE) 150 Under 50 Rankings 2021.

The 150 Under 50 Rankings are a global list of the best universities that have been established within the last 50 years. Institutions are evaluated on 13 performance indicators grouped into five categories: teaching, research, citations, international outlook and industry income.

The 2021 Times Higher Education World University Rankings classes the University of Luxembourg in the top 201 to 250 best universities in the world. The University’s overall positioning remains unchanged compared to the prior year; however an additional 131 institutions were included in the THE 2021 ranking.

The new classification, published on 2 September 2020, evaluated 1,527 universities in all. 

The University of Luxembourg receives its highest scores in the category International Outlook, ranking #3 worldwide (compared to #1 in 2019). The University also ranks among the top 25% of universities in the categories Teaching, Research and Citations.

The Times Higher Education regularly evaluates and classifies universities throughout the world. The University of Luxembourg has been included in the THE classification since 2016. The 2021 classification covers more than 1,500 institutions, compared with 1,396 the previous year.

Source: Times Higher Education

More information.

Luxembourg: second most competitive financial centre in the Eurozone

Once again, Luxembourg has been ranked in the first division of global financial centres in terms of competitiveness. In the “Global Financial Centres Index ” by the consultancy Z/Yen and the Long Finance initiative, the country was placed 17th, but 2nd in the Eurozone (after Frankfurt).

These results are based on a survey of financial professionals, plus industry and economic data about one hundred international financial centres. Human capital, the business environment, financial sector development, infrastructure plus reputational and general factors were all taken into account in this report.

Read more about the Global Financial Centres Index [pdf].

 

 

 

 

World Economic Forum Global enabling trade report

Luxembourg ranks 4th in the Global enabling trade report of the year 2016. Luxembourg has further improved the quality of transport services it can offer to its businesses, moving up nine notches and gaining the top position globally.

In fact, the country now ranks in the top 10 across all the available indicators in this area and 1st for ease and affordability of shipments and their timeliness in reaching destinations.

The quality of its operating environment has also further improved, making Luxembourg the 3rd best country in the world for companies to operate in and the most open to foreign participation.

Source : World Economic Forum.

 

International Chamber of Commerce (ICC) Open Markets Index 2017

Singapore, Hong Kong SAR and Luxembourg head the 2017 rankings for the 4th successive edition of the report, far outstripping major economies such as the United States in terms of trade openness.

It has to be noted that Luxembourg achieved the highest level of openness in relation to trade to GDP ratio, for merchandise and services imports per capita and in the Logistics Performance Index among others.

Source : International Chamber of Commerce.

 

 

 

Statistics on language learning in primary and secondary schools of the EU Member States

Luxembourg is of particular interest, insofar as there are three official languages, with most pupils receiving instruction in Luxembourgish, German and French in primary education. English is only introduced at secondary school, what makes Luxembourg standing out as the EU Member State with the highest proportion (100%) of upper secondary general education students learning two or more languages.

Source : Eurostat.

 

 

Foreign language skills statistics

Almost three quarters (72%) of the adult working-age population in Luxembourg know three or more foreign languages. Less than 3 % report that they did not know any foreign language.

The very high proportion of working-age adults in Luxembourg who reported speaking at least three foreign languages may, at least in part, reflect the local administrative and education systems. Indeed there are three official languages in the country and most pupils receive instruction in Luxembourgish, German and French at a primary level of education, with English and other languages being introduced at secondary level.

Source : Eurostat.

 

EF English proficiency index : Luxembourg, 11th country in the world

With a score of 610 (very good proficiency), Luxembourg ranks 11th in the EF ranking on the English proficiency index in non-mother tongue countries.

Source : Education First.

 

Luxembourg among the top 40 countries most ready to benefit from e-commerce (UNCTAD BtoC Index 2020)

In 2020, Luxembourg was ranked 36th  out of 152 countries in the UNCTAD's ranking of those 152  countries' capacity to support online shopping and other business-to-consumer e-commerce. 

Source: United Nations Conference on Trade and Development.

Last update

Classements internationaux

Pour plus de détails sur les classements internationaux du Luxembourg, vous pouvez consulter le lien suivant : https://odc.gouvernement.lu/fr/statistiques/benchmarks-internationaux.html

 

 

Le Luxembourg dans le top 20 mondial pour ses capacités logistiques

Le Luxembourg a été classé au seizième rang mondial, avec un score de 3,84, par l'indice de performance logistique 2018 de la Banque Mondiale publié dans la 6ème édition de son étude semestrielle "Connecting to Compete".

L'indice, dominé par l'Allemagne avec un score de 4,19, mesure les capacités logistiques commerciales des pays sur une échelle de 1 à 5.

Source : Banque Mondiale [EN].

 

 

 

Indice de résilience de la chaîne d'approvisionnement : le Luxembourg un leader au 3ème rang mondial

Le risque de la chaîne d'approvisionnement est une préoccupation majeure pour les entreprises, en particulier celles qui travaillent au-delà des frontières. Les entreprises viennent au Luxembourg pour son expertise dans la gestion de ces risques et pour les transformer en avantages commerciaux. Cette compétence se reflète dans l'indice de résilience 2019 publié par les consultants FM Global, dans lequel le Luxembourg se classe au 3ème rang au niveau mondial.

Au total, 130 pays ont été analysés, en examinant l'état de leurs économies (productivité, risque politique, dépendance au pétrole), les niveaux globaux de risque (la prévalence des risques naturels et les systèmes de gestion) et la robustesse de la chaîne d'approvisionnement (corruption, infrastructure, fournisseur qualité). En prenant toutes ces mesures dans leur ensemble, le Luxembourg atteint un score de 96,7 sur un maximum de 100.

En ce qui concerne plus particulièrement les trois sous-catégories qui composent l'indice composite général, le Luxembourg se classe de la manière suivante:

  • Economie - le Luxembourg est classé 1er au niveau mondial (100): productivité (100), risque politique (92,5), intensité en pétrole de l'économie (72,1), taux d'urbanisation (84,6) ;
  • Risques - le Luxembourg est classé 15ème au niveau mondial (84,6): exposition à des risques de dangers naturels (95,8), potentiel d'amélioration de la gestion des risques en cas de dangers naturels (63,7), gestion des risques d'incendie (76,9), risque cybernétique (56,8) ; 
  • Chaîne d'approvisionnement - le Luxembourg est classé 25ème au niveau mondial (79,6): contrôle de la corruption (98,4), qualité des infrastructures (84,8), gouvernance d’entreprise (63,3), visibilité de la chaîne d'approvisionnement (69,7).

En savoir plus sur le classement du Luxembourg dans l'indice de résilience [EN]

 

La compétitivité du Luxembourg classée au 12ème rang mondial

Le Luxembourg est classée douzième dans l'édition 2021 du classement de l'Annuaire mondial de compétitivité compilé par l'école de commerce de Lausanne "International Institute for Management Development".

Le Luxembourg est en forte position dans des domaines tels que le commerce international (7ème), la productivité et l'efficacité (6ème), les finances (10ème), ou la législation commerciale (6ème).

En savoir plus sur le classement du Luxembourg [pdf, EN], dans le dossier de presse de la Chambre de Commerce de Luxembourg.

Plus de détails.

 

Le Luxembourg parmi les meilleurs pays du monde dans l'indice mondial de l'innovation

Le Luxembourg a été classé 23ème sur 132 pays du monde entier dans le dernier indice mondial d'innovation compilé par l'Université Cornell et l'Organisation mondiale de la propriété intellectuelle. Le Luxembourg est classé dix-huitième au niveau mondial (15ème dans l’UE) dans le sous-index Innovation Output et troisième pour les résultats créatifs. 

Le rapport dresse les constats suivants à propos du Luxembourg :

  • "Relative to GDP, Luxembourg’s performance is above expectations for its level of development.
  • Luxembourg produces more innovation outputs relative to its level of innovation investments.
  • GII strengths for Luxembourg are found in six of the seven GII pillars. In detail, Luxembourg shows strengths in the indicators Political and operational stability, Tertiary inbound mobility, ICT access, Environmental performance, Venture capital deals, Knowledge-intensive employment, Patent families 2+ offices, Intellectual property payments, Cultural & creative services exports, National feature films and Generic top-level domains.
  • GII weaknesses for Luxembourg are found in all GII pillars. In detail, Luxembourg exhibits weaknesses in the indicators Cost of redundancy dismissal, Tertiary enrolment, Graduates in science & engineering, QS university ranking, Electricity output, Gross capital formation, Ease of getting credit, High-tech imports, Growth rate of PPP$ GDP/worker and Creative goods exports."

En savoir plus sur le classement du Luxembourg dans l'indice mondial de l'innovation [pdf, EN].

 

Le Luxembourg 10ème selon l'indice économie et société numériques en Europe

Le Luxembourg se classe 10e sur les 28 États membres de l’UE considérés dans l’indice relatif à l’économie et à la société numériques (DESI) 2020, soit un moins bon résultat que l'année précédente.

Sur la base des données antérieures à la pandémie, des progrès significatifs sont observés dans le domaine des services publics numériques, avec une progression de deux places dans le classement, principalement due aux services publics numériques pour les entreprises et aux formulaires en ligne préremplis des services publics. De même, le Luxembourg a progressé d’une place dans le classement relatif à la connectivité. En revanche, bien qu’il reste au-dessus de la moyenne de l’UE, le pays a reculé dans le classement relatif au capital humain. En ce qui concerne l’intégration des technologies numériques, le Luxembourg a également perdu une place dans le classement et reste, comme les années précédentes, en dessous de la moyenne de l’UE. L’indicateur concernant l’utilisation des services internet est celui qui enregistre la baisse la plus importante, passant de la 9e à la 12e place, mais il reste toutefois très proche de la moyenne de l’UE.

Le Luxembourg a accompli d’importants progrès dans le domaine des services publics numériques. Il se classe désormais à la 14e place dans l’UE et a considérablement amélioré sa note, qui est supérieure de plus d’1 point à la moyenne de l’UE.

Source : Commission Européenne.

Plus de détails.

 

Une bonne qualité de vie pour les expatriés au Luxembourg

La communauté internationale d'expatriés InterNations a classé Luxembourg City 18ème sur plus de 66 villes à travers le monde dans Expat Insider, un sondage annuel basé sur les opinions des expatriés.

Le Luxembourg performe surtout pour la qualité de la vie, la tranquillité, la stabilité politique et est le meilleur pour l’économie et la sécurité de l'emploi.

En savoir plus sur le classement de Luxembourg City dans le classement Expat Insider [pdf, EN]

Plus d'informations sur l'environnement et la durabilité au Luxembourg.

 

L'Université du Luxembourg numéro 3 mondial pour son « caractère international »

L'Université de Luxembourg occupe le 20ème rang parmi les meilleures jeunes universités du monde, selon le dernier classement Time Higher Education (THE) "150 Under 50" de 2021.

Le classement "150 Under 50" est une liste globale des meilleures universités qui ont été établies au cours des 50 dernières années. Les institutions sont évaluées sur 13 indicateurs de performance regroupés en cinq catégories : enseignement, recherche, citations, perspectives internationales et revenus de l'industrie.

Le Times Higher Education World University Rankings 2020 classe l'Université du Luxembourg parmi les 201 à 250 meilleures universités au monde. La position globale de l’Université n’a pas changé par rapport à l’année précédente; cependant, 131 institutions supplémentaires ont été inclues dans le classement THE 2021.

Le nouveau classement, publié le 02 septembre 2020 a évalué 1 527 universités au total.

L'Université obtient ses meilleurs scores dans la catégorie Perspectives internationales, se classant n° 3 mondial (contre n° 1 en 2019). Dans les catégories Enseignement, Recherche et Citations, l'Université se classe également parmi les 25% des meilleures institutions.

Times Higher Education évalue et classe régulièrement les universités du monde entier. L'Université du Luxembourg est incluse dans le classement THE depuis 2016. L'édition 2021 couvre plus de 1 500 institutions, contre 1 396 l'année précédente..

Source: Times Higher Education

Plus d'informations.

 

Le Luxembourg : deuxième centre financier le plus compétitif de la zone euro

Encore une fois, le Luxembourg a été classé dans la première division des centres financiers mondiaux en termes de compétitivité. Dans le "Global Financial Centers Index" du cabinet de conseil Z / Yen et l'initiative Long Finance, le pays a été classé 17ème, mais 2ème dans la zone euro (après Francfort).

Ces résultats sont basés sur un sondage effectué auprès des professionnels de la finance, plus des données économiques et industrielles sur une centaine de centres financiers internationaux. Le capital humain, l'environnement des affaires, le développement du secteur financier, l'infrastructure, les facteurs de réputation et les facteurs généraux ont tous été pris en compte dans ce rapport.

En savoir plus sur l'indice des centres financiers mondiaux [pdf, EN]

 

Rapport du Forum mondial économique sur la facilitation du commerce mondial

Le Luxembourg se classe au 4ème rang dans le rapport du commerce mondial de l'année 2016. Le Luxembourg a encore amélioré la qualité des services de transport qu'il peut offrir à ses entreprises, en remontant de neuf places et en gagnant la meilleure position à l'échelle mondiale.

En fait, le pays se classe parmi les 10 premiers pour tous les indicateurs disponibles dans ce domaine et le 1er pour la facilité et le prix des expéditions et leur ponctualité à atteindre leur destination.

La qualité de son environnement opérationnel s'est en outre améliorée, amenant le Luxembourg à la 3ème place mondiale pour la gestion opérationnelle des entreprises et l'ouverture vers le monde.

Source: Forum économique mondial [EN]

 

Indice 2017 des marchés ouverts de la Chambre de commerce internationale (CCI) 

Singapour, Hong Kong SAR et Luxembourg sont en tête du classement 2017 pour la quatrième édition successive du rapport, dépassant largement les principales économies comme les États-Unis en termes d'ouverture commerciale.

Il convient de noter que le Luxembourg a atteint le plus haut niveau d'ouverture par rapport au ratio commerce / PIB, pour les importations de marchandises et services par habitant et dans l'indice de performance logistique entre autres.

Source : Chambre internationale de commerce [EN]

 

Statistiques sur l'apprentissage des langues dans les écoles primaires et secondaires des Etats membres de l'UE

Le Luxembourg est particulièrement intéressant, dans la mesure où il existe trois langues officielles, la plupart des élèves suivant des cours en langue luxembourgeoise, en allemand et en français dans l'enseignement primaire. L'anglais est étudié dans l'enseignement secondaire. Le Luxembourg se distingue ainsi en tant qu'Etat membre de l'UE avec la plus grande proportion (100%) des étudiants de l'enseignement général du deuxième cycle du secondaire qui apprennent deux langues ou plus.

Source : Eurostat.

 

Statistiques sur les compétences en langues étrangères

Près des trois quarts (72%) de la population adulte en âge de travailler au Luxembourg connaissent trois langues étrangères ou plus. Moins de 3% déclarent qu'ils ne connaissaient aucune langue étrangère.

La proportion très élevée d'adultes en âge de travailler au Luxembourg qui ont déclaré parler au moins trois langues étrangères peut être, au moins en partie, le reflet des systèmes administratifs et éducatifs locaux. En effet, il existe trois langues officielles dans le pays et la plupart des élèves suivent des cours en luxembourgeois, allemand et français durant la scolarité primaire, l'anglais et d'autres langues étant introduits au niveau secondaire.

Source : Eurostat.

 

Indice EF de compétence en anglais : Luxembourg, 11ème pays dans le monde

Avec un score de 610 (très bonne maîtrise), le Luxembourg occupe le 11ème rang du classement Education First sur l'indice de compétence en anglais dans les pays dont ce n'est pas la langue maternelle.

Source : Education First.

 

Le Luxembourg parmi les 40 premiers pays les mieux préparés à bénéficier du e-commerce (UNCTAD BtoC Index 2020)

En 2020, parmi 152 pays, le Luxembourg occupe le 36ème rang au classement de la Conférence des Nations Unies sur le Commerce et le Développement (UNCTAD) sur la capacité à soutenir le commerce en ligne et le e-commerce des entreprises aux particuliers.

Source: Conférence des Nations Unies sur le Commerce et le Développement [EN].

Dernière mise à jour