Digital infrastructures

Logistics is not only about moving goods around the world. It has also to do with the flow of information related to the shipment of goods. Therefore, redundant national and international high speed connections as well as data centres meeting high security and technical standards, are key factors when it comes to supply chain management.

Excellent international and national connectivity

  • redundant high speed connections with fiber optic networks to all major European POPs (e.g.: Teralink, Luxconnect) and a satellite connectivity (SES)
  • an internet exchange point offered by LU-CIX Luxembourg Commercial Internet Exchange.
This picture is a map of Europe showing the fiber routes between Luxembourg and the other countries
©Gouvernement du Luxembourg, Service des médias et des communications

State-of-the-art digital infrastructures

Luxembourg offers a resilient and secure ICT environment, affordable and easy to reach. The international security requirements of the banking sector have led the country to a high level of expertise which enables the broader economy to benefit from high security standards.

Luxembourg was the first European state to set up a public key infrastructure called LuxTrust to manage electronic signatures and certificates for government applications as well as for the private sector (e-banking, e-commerce, etc.).

23 high-level data centers are operational, representing more than 46,000 m2, giving Luxembourg one of the largest densities of data centers in the world. These data centers meet the highest safety standards (Tier III and IV) and comply with stringent energy-saving guidelines.

The installation of a High Performance Computer (HPC) is planned for 2018.

A trusted and compliant blockchain infrastructure will be set up by the private-public Infrachain initiative and will be made available for start-ups and established companies developing new services.  

Last update

Infrastructures digitales

La logistique ne consiste pas seulement à déplacer des marchandises à travers le monde. Elle consiste également en un flux d’informations concernant l’envoi de ces marchandises. Les connections redondantes nationales et internationales à haut débit, ainsi que des data centers répondant aux normes techniques et de sécurité de haut niveau sont des facteurs clés dans la gestion de la chaîne logistique.

Excellente connectivité nationale et internationale  

  • des connexions redondantes haut débit avec des réseaux de fibre optique reliés à tous les POP européens majeurs (par exemple : Teralink, Luxconnect) et une connectivité par satellite (SES)
  • un nœud d’échange Internet proposé par LU-CIX Luxembourg Commercial Internet exchange.
Cette image représente une carte d'Europe avec les réseaux de fibre optique présents entre le Luxembourg et les autres pays
©Gouvernement du Luxembourg, Service des médias et des communications

Des infrastructures digitales de pointe

Le Luxembourg offre un environnement IT sécurisé accessible et abordable. Les exigences de sécurité internationale du secteur bancaire ont conduit le pays à un haut niveau d’expertise qui permet de faire bénéficier l’économie au sens large de standards de sécurité élevés.

Le Luxembourg a ainsi été le premier Etat européen à mettre en place une infrastructure à clés publiques dénommée LuxTrust permettant de gérer des signatures et certificats électroniques pour les applications du gouvernement mais aussi pour le secteur privé (e-banking, e-commerce, etc.).

23 centres de données de haut niveau sont opérationnels, représentant plus de 46.000 m2, ce qui donne au Luxembourg l’une des plus grandes densités de centres de données dans le monde. Ces centres de données répondent aux niveaux de sécurité les plus élevés (Tier III et IV) et respectent les directives exigeantes en matière d’économie d’énergie.

L'installation d'un calculateur haute performance est prévue pour 2018.

Une infrastructure blockchain fiable et coforme va être mise en place par l'initiative publique-privée Infrachain and sera mise à disposition des start-ups et des companies déjà établies pour développer de nouveaux services.

Dernière mise à jour