Intelligent transportation system (ITS)

Intelligent Transport Systems (ITS) consist in the application of new technologies in the area of transport.

They are called "intelligent" because they are linked to capacities associated with human intelligence: memory, communication, information processing, sensory capacities and adaptive behavior. ITS are found in several fields of activity: optimization of the use of transport infrastructures, improvement of security and safety, development of services as well as sustainable development by favoring a shift from roadway to other environmentally-friendly modes of transport.

They have an important role to play in the area of freight transport and logistics due to the international character of transport of goods, the constant increase in transported volume and the major economic cost in the event of congestion (loss of time, perished products, loss of business, etc.). It is coupled with the major pressure to optimize investments made by the private and public sector, whether in the rolling equipment for transport infrastructures or logistics infrastructures or in the rolling stock.

Intelligent Transport Systems have been rapidly developed in the area of transport of goods, since the fleets of vehicles, trains or other devices are identified and may be easily equipped. In addition to navigation systems installed in vehicles, freight (containers, pallets, packages, etc.) can also be equipped with tracking systems to allow more effective management of traffic and logistics.

Whereas operators offer "track & trace" solutions by integrating RFID or other devices in their vehicles, the public authorities are in charge to develop ITS on the transport networks.

Intelligent Transport Systems allow:

  • integration of the transport and logistics chain (tracking of vehicles and goods) from client to logistical warehouses
  • consideration of multimodality and intermodality by providing interoperability
  • compliance with regulations requiring special monitoring (transport of hazardous materials, pharmaceutical products, etc.).

In Luxembourg, the following intelligent systems are operational on the different transport networks:

  • for the rail network: the ERTMS system is used on the Luxembourg rail network
  • for the waterway network: the MIB system/Moves is in place on the Moselle
  • for the roadway network: the CITA system is used on the Luxembourg highway network.
Last update

Systèmes de Transport Intelligents (STI)

Les Systèmes de Transport Intelligents (STI) consistent en l’application des nouvelles technologies au domaine des transports. 

On les dit "intelligents" parce qu’ils sont liés à des capacités associées à l’intelligence humaine : mémoire, communication, traitement de l’information, capacités sensorielles et comportement adaptatif. On trouve les STI dans plusieurs champs d’activité : optimisation de l’utilisation des infrastructures de transport, amélioration de la sécurité et de la sûreté, développement des services ainsi que développement durable en favorisant le report de la route vers les autres modes plus respectueux de l’environnement.

Ils ont un rôle important à jouer dans le domaine des transports de fret et de la logistique en raison du caractère international du transport de marchandises, de l’augmentation constante du volume transporté et du coût important pour l’économie en cas de congestion (perte de temps, produits périmés, manque à gagner, etc.).

A cela s’ajoute une pression importante en vue d’optimiser les investissements effectués par le secteur privé et public, que ce soit dans l'équipement roulant pour les infrastructures de transport ou de logistique ou dans le matériel roulant.

Les STI se sont rapidement développés dans le domaine du transport de marchandises, puisque les flottes de véhicules, trains ou autres engins sont identifiées et peuvent être facilement équipées. Outre les systèmes de navigation embarqués dans les véhicules, le fret (conteneurs, palettes, colis, etc.) peut aussi être doté de systèmes de localisation permettant une gestion plus efficace du trafic et de la logistique.

Alors que les opérateurs offrent des solutions "track & trace" en dotant leurs véhicules d’engins embarqués et les marchandises de dispositifs RFID ou autres, les pouvoirs publics sont responsables du développement des STI sur les réseaux de transports.

Les STI permettent :

  • l'intégration de la chaîne de transport et de la logistique (suivi des véhicules, des marchandises) du client jusque dans les dépôts logistiques
  • la prise en compte de la multimodalité et de l'intermodalité en assurant l’interopérabilité
  • le respect des réglementations imposant un suivi particulier (transport de matières dangereuses, produits pharmaceutiques, etc.).

Au Luxembourg, les systèmes intelligents suivants sont opérationnels sur les différents réseaux de transports :

  • pour le réseau ferroviaire : le système ERTMS équipe le réseau ferroviaire luxembourgeois
  • pour le réseau fluvial : le système MIB/Moves est en place sur la Moselle
  • pour le réseau routier : le système CITA équipe les autoroutes luxembourgeoises.
Dernière mise à jour