Multimodal connectivity

The Bettembourg multimodal platform links Luxembourg and its neighboring countries to the rest of the Europe by road and rail with access to Italian, Spanish, Eastern European, UK and Scandinavian markets.

Even though the country does not have direct access to the coast, it is connected to many large European ports such as Antwerp, Zeebrugge, Rotterdam and Hamburg in the north and Barcelona, Marseille, Genoa and Trieste in the south, through a dense rail network and the Rhine-Moselle river route accessible from the Mertert river port.

Rail freight services are presented on the CFL (Luxembourg national railway company) website.

CFL cargo and CFL multimodal, in collaboration with various partners, offer transport to more distant destinations: Turkey.

For example, MARS Logistics, a Turkish logistics company long established in Luxembourg, started a two-way combined train shuttle between Bettembourg (Luxembourg) and Trieste (Italy) in 2012. These trains transport goods to and from Turkey, thus connecting the European continent with Asia.

With several round-trip journeys per week, the train transports semi-trailers with goods from several points of departure inside Turkey, transiting via the ports of Istanbul, Izmir, and Mersin to Trieste. From Trieste, the semi-trailers continue their journey by train, passing by the multimodal terminal of Bettembourg to various destinations in Luxembourg, Belgium, the Netherlands, United Kingdom, France, Germany, and back.

From the point of departure to the final destination, each semi-trailer travels more than 2,500 km.  This helps disencumber the roadway network and represents a 75% reduction of CO2 emissions compared to the equivalent highway transport from start to finish.

This picture represents a map of Europe with combined rail networks and connections to ports
©CFL multimodal

   

AT A GLANCE

  • scheduled road connections to major European ports
  • reliable rail connections to ports of the North Sea, the Baltic Sea and the Mediterranean Sea
  • multimodal services with well-equiped container terminal, rail motorway platform and combined terminal
  • rail freight services with marshalling yard and long haul transeuropean services.
Last update

Connectivité multimodale

La plateforme multimodale de Bettembourg relie le Luxembourg et la Grande Région au reste de l’Europe par la route et le train avec un accès aux marchés italien, espagnol, de l’Europe de l’est, du Royaume-Uni et de la Scandinavie.

Bien que le pays n’ait pas accès directement au littoral, cette plateforme permet la connexion avec de nombreux grands ports européens tel que Anvers, Zeebruges, Rotterdam et Hambourg au nord et Barcelone, Marseille, Gênes ou Trieste au sud, grâce à un réseau ferroviaire dense et à la voie fluviale Rhin-Moselle accessible depuis le port fluvial de Mertert.

Les offres de fret ferroviaire sont présentées sur le site de la CFL (société nationale des Chemins de Fer Luxembourgeois).

CFL cargo et CFL multimodal, en collaboration avec différents partenaires, proposent des destinations plus lointaines : Turquie.

Par exemple, MARS Logistics, une société turque de logistique établie de longue date au Luxembourg, a démarré en 2012 une navette de trains combinés entre Bettembourg (Luxembourg) et Trieste (Italie) et retour. Ces trains transportent des marchandises en provenance ou à destination de la Turquie, connectant ainsi le continent européen à l'Asie.

Avec une fréquence de plusieurs trajets aller-retour par semaine, le train transporte des semi-remorques avec des marchandises en provenance de plusieurs points de départ à l'intérieur de la Turquie, transitant via les ports d'Istanbul, Izmir et Mersin vers Trieste. A partir de Trieste, les semi-remorques continuent leur trajet par train, en passant par le terminal multimodal de Bettembourg vers diverses destinations au Luxembourg, en Belgique, aux Pays-Bas, au Royaume Uni, en France, en Allemagne, et inversement. 

Du point de départ jusqu'à la destination finale, chaque semi-remorque parcourt plus de 2.500 kilomètres. Cela contribue au désencombrement du réseau routier et représente une diminution de 75% des émissions de CO2 en comparaison avec le transport routier équivalent de bout en bout.

 

Cette image représente une carte d'Europe avec les liaisons ferroviaires combinées et les connexions vers les ports
©CFL multimodal

   

EN RÉSUMÉ

  • des liaisons régulières par route vers les principaux ports européens
  • des connexions ferroviaires fiables vers les ports de la mer du Nord, la mer Baltique et la mer Méditerranée
  • des services multimodaux comprenant un terminal à containeurs bien équipé, une autoroute ferroviaire et un terminal combiné
  • des services de fret ferroviaire comprenant une gare de triage and des services long-courriers transeuropéen.
Dernière mise à jour