Smart & innovative logistics

Digitalization and new technological developments, such as 3D printing, the Internet of Things, predictive analytics, robotics and artificial intelligence are expected to reshape processes along the entire logistics value chain from contract logistics and warehouse management to last-mile delivery. Luxembourg is well aware of these future challenges and offers companies a great living lab to develop innovative services and test new offerings.

An ideal testbed

Luxembourg is a perfect testbed for international companies due to two main reasons: its size and its agility. A wide range of population segments and physical environments are available in a small and convenient geographical area. The ease of access to politicians and key decision-makers is coupled with a strong determination to keep Luxembourg on the cutting edge of new technological advances. The country is thus very open to testing innovative solutions and implementing necessary regulatory and practical adaptations.  

Luxembourg will blaze a trail in the development of autonomous and connected driving technologies when its centre and south regions become a test laboratory. The area is part of a cross-border digital experimental site, also spanning roads in the Metz region in France and Saarland in Germany. The three countries have committed to work together to create an environment where innovative technologies can be tested on all road categories.

Big data and advanced analytics represent a huge potential for the logistics and supply chain sector, especially in terms of process efficiency and service delivery. Companies aiming to develop services in this field need state-of-the-art ICT infrastructures. Luxembourg is at the forefront of the digital revolution and home to one of the best digital infrastructures in the world.  

Supporting research, development and innovation

The Government actively encourages innovative companies in Luxembourg to carry out R&D activities in collaboration with research institutes. The country offers, for example, the possibility to set up joint industrial research projects with the Luxembourg Center for Logistics and Supply Chain Management (LCL), which was created by the University of Luxembourg in partnership with the Massachusetts Institute of Technology Center for Transportation & Logistics (MIT CTL). Primary research areas at the LCL include among others supply chain data analytics, revenue and inventory management, supply chain finance, behavioral operations management and process improvement.

Furthermore, the Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology (LIST) is a research and technology organization active in the fields of materials, environment as well as IT and focuses a part of its research on the mobility, transport and logistics sector.

In line with Luxembourg’s aim of becoming a European center of excellence for secure, reliable and trustworthy ICT, the Interdisciplinary Center for Security, Reliability and Trust (SnT) of the University of Luxembourg conducts internationally ICT research with high relevance for business, including the logistics and supply chain sector. Research focus areas include secure and compliant data management, cyber security, satellite systems, autonomous vehicles and Internet of things. Through its partnership program that involves the most prominent members, the SnT develops concepts that give companies in Luxembourg and beyond a solid and long-lasting competitive advantage.

Vibrant start-up ecosystem

Innovative logistics start-ups can be hosted and coached in an incubator or innovation centre in order to ease their development from early to mature stage. The Luxembourg ecosystem offers various funding schemes for promising start-ups in form of grants and equity investment. The Fit 4 Start programme, for example, supports ICT start-ups in their establishment phase by offering early-stage funding and coaching. The Digital Tech Fund is a seed fund that provides critical venture capital support for promising early-stage high-tech start-ups.

Vodafone and the Technoport incubator have launched Tomorrow Street Innovation Center. This public-private partnership aims to support late-stage start-ups to go global.

Towards a fully paperless environment  

The freight activity requires a large number of declarations and transport documents and a guarantee of traceability. Luxembourg is involved in international initiatives to accelerate and digitalize the procedures linked to the transport of goods.

Since 2008, Luxembourg is recognized by IATA as a country that early on supported the expansion of e-Freight for air transport. This project consists in optimizing the cost and duration of processing procedures by dematerializing these documents.

In the area of road transport, the e-CMR protocol aims at supporting the use of the electronic consignment note. As of March 2018, Luxembourg authorizes the use of digital consignment notes for road transport after the adoption of the UNECE e-CMR protocol addition and also participates in a Benelux e-CMR project. The first transport to use this electronic document was carried out in April 2018.

Resulting from the collaboration between government agencies and economic operators, the innovative electronic platform Single Window for Logistics allows to obtain all required legal information on cross-border flows of goods, facilitate dialog with government agencies and access procedures on-line for obtaining permits or certificates related to international trade.

Last update

Logistique innovante et intelligente

La digitalisation et le développement des nouvelles technologies telles que l’impression 3D, « l’internet des objets », l’analyse prédictive, la robotique et l’intelligence artificielle, vont avoir un impact sur les processus tout au long de la chaîne de valeur logistique : depuis la logistique contractuelle et la gestion des entrepôts jusqu’à la logistique du « dernier kilomètre ». Le Luxembourg est tout à fait conscient de ces défis futurs et offre aux entreprises un laboratoire vivant idéal pour développer et tester des services innovants.

Un environnement de test idéal

Deux raisons font du Luxembourg un environnement de test idéal pour les entreprises internationales : sa taille et son agilité.  Un vaste éventail de segments de population et d’environnements géographiques sont disponibles sur une zone géographique limitée et pratique. La facilité d’accès aux responsables politiques et aux décideurs clés va de pair avec une volonté claire de garder le Luxembourg à la pointe des nouvelles avancées technologiques. Le pays est ainsi prêt à tester des solutions innovantes et à mettre en oeuvre les adaptations juridiques et pratiques nécessaires.

Le Luxembourg va ouvrir la voie vers le développement des technologies de conduite autonome et connectée lorsque ses régions sud et centre vont devenir un laboratoire de test. En effet, cette zone fait partie d’un site digital expérimental transfrontalier qui comprend également la région de Metz en France et la Sarre en Allemagne. Les trois pays se sont engagés à travailler ensemble pour créer un environnement où les technologies innovantes pourront être testées sur tous types de routes.

Le Big data et l’analyse avancée de données représentent un potentiel énorme dans le secteur de la logistique et de la chaîne d’approvisionnement, et ceci particulièrement en ce qui concerne l’efficience des processus et les prestations de service. Les entreprises visant à développer des services dans ces domaines ont besoin d’infrastructures TIC de pointe. Le Luxembourg est à l’avant-garde de la révolution digitale and abrite parmi les meilleures infrastructures digitales au monde.

Soutien à la recherche et développement et à l’innovation

Le gouvernement encourage activement les entreprises innovantes au Luxembourg à mener des activités de recherche et développement en collaboration avec les instituts de recherche. Le pays offre par exemple la possibilité de mettre en place des projets de recherche industriels conjoints avec le Luxembourg Center for Logistics and Supply Chain Management (LCL) créé par l’Université du Luxembourg en partenariat avec le Massachusetts Institute of Technology Center for Transportation & Logistics (MIT CTL). Les principaux domaines de recherche au LCL couvrent en autres l’analyse de données, la finance et l’optimisation des processus de la chaîne d’approvisionnement, la gestion opérationnelle des comportements.

Par ailleurs, le Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology (LIST) est un centre de recherche et de technologie actif dans les domaines des matériaux, de l’environnement et de l’informatique. Il concentre une partie de ses recherches au secteur de la mobilité, du transport et de la logistique.

En ligne avec l’objectif du Luxembourg de devenir un centre d’excellence européen pour les TIC fiables, sûres et dignes de confiance, le Interdisciplinary Center for Security, Reliability and Trust (SnT) de l’Université du Luxembourg mène des activités de recherche à l’échelle internationale avec une pertinence indéniable pour les entreprises, couvrant le secteur de la logistique et de la chaîne d’approvisionnement. Ses principaux domaines de recherche portent sur la gestion sécurisée des données, la cyber sécurité, les systèmes satellites, les véhicules autonomes et « l’internet des objets ». A travers son programme de partenariat impliquant des membres illustres, le SnT développe des concepts qui procurent aux entreprises, au Luxembourg et au-delà, un avantage concurrentiel solide et durable.

Un écosystème dynamique pour les start-ups

Les start-ups innovantes en matière de logistique peuvent être hébergées et coachées dans un incubateur ou un centre d’innovation afin de favoriser leur développement depuis la phase de démarrage des activités jusqu’à un stade de maturité avancée. L’écosystème luxembourgeois propose différents systèmes de financement pour les start-ups prometteuses sous forme de bourses et d’investissement en actions. Le programme Fit 4 Start, par exemple, soutient les start-ups en informatique durant leur phase de création en leur proposant un financement initial et du coaching. Le Digital Tech Fund est un fonds d’amorçage qui apporte un soutien au capital-risque essentiel pour les start-ups technologiques en démarrage.

Vodafone et l’incubateur Technoport ont lancé le centre d’innovation Tomorrow Street. Ce partenariat vise à accompagner les start-ups ayant déjà un produit commercialisé à se lancer à l’international.

Vers un environnement sans papier

L’activité de transport de marchandises requiert un grand nombre de déclarations et de documents de transport tout comme des garanties en terme de traçabilité. Le Luxembourg est impliqué dans divers initiatives internationales pour accélérer et digitaliser les procédures liées au transport de marchandises.

Depuis 2008, le Luxembourg est reconnu par l’IATA comme un des pays précurseurs qui supporte la digitalisation de la documentation liée au fret aérien (e-Freight). Ce projet consiste à optimiser le coût et la durée de traitement des démarches en dématérialisant ces documents.

Dans le domaine du transport routier de marchandises, le protocole e-CMR vise à mettre en place la lettre de voiture électronique. Depuis mars 2018, le Luxembourg autorise l'utilisation des lettres de voiture électroniques pour le transport routier, dans le cadre du protocol e-CRM de l'UNECE et participe également à un projet pilote au Benelux. Le premier transport utilisant ce document électronique a eu lieu en avril 2018.

Née de la collaboration entre les administrations publiques et les opérateurs économiques, la plateforme électronique innovante Single Window for Logistics permet d’obtenir toutes les informations légales requises concernant les flux transfrontières de marchandises, de faciliter les échanges avec les administrations compétentes et d’accéder à des démarches en ligne pour obtenir des autorisations ou certificats liés à l’activité commerciale internationale des entreprises.

Dernière mise à jour