Certificate of Inspection (COI) for organic products

Definition

The Certificate of Inspection for organic products (COI) ensures that organic products imported from third countries are compliant with applicable European laws.

The COI is a form that must be completed by importers and the control body of the exporter in the TRACES system to import  foodstuffs resulting from organic agriculture.

The second part of the form is completed by the Administration of Agricultural Technical Services following its inspection.

This picture represents a certificate of inspection for import of organic products

Related products

Organic products are all products whose label or accompanying documents refer to the organic production method. The presence of the European logo is not required for products imported from third countries.

This diagram represents the organic logo of the EU and its explanations

Obligations and controls

Before the release of the imported organic products on the market, the Administration of Agricultural Technical Services (ASTA) has to verify the documents and the products during an inspection procedure.

Related organizations

The Administration  of Agricultural Technical Services  is responsible for the control and certification of operators (producers, processors, distributors, importers) and of organic products in Luxembourg. It is in charge of verifying the proper use of the organic label on products placed on the market, originating from Luxembourg, European Union or third country.

The ASTA is responsible for the accreditation of private organic product control and certification agencies operating in the national territory.

Companies that wish to import organic products need to submit their undertaking to the control system of organic farming (contract with an agreed organic control body) and notify their activity to ASTA [article 28 of Council Regulation N°834/2007]. 

Last update

Certificat d'inspection pour produits biologiques

Définition

Le certificat d’inspection pour produits biologiques appelé COI (Certificate Of Inspection en anglais) assure que les produits biologiques importés depuis un pays tiers sont conformes à la législation européenne en la matière.

Le COI est un formulaire à remplir par l'importateur et l’organisme de contrôle de l’exportateur dans le système TRACES pour importer des produits alimentaires issus de l'agriculture biologique.

La seconde partie du formulaire est remplie par l'Administration des Services Techniques de l'Agriculture suite à son inspection.

Cette image représente un certificat d'inspection pour l'importation de produits biologiques

Produits concernés

Les produits biologiques sont tous les produits dont l'étiquetage ou les documents d'accompagnement font référence au mode de production bio. La présence du logo européen n’est pas obligatoire pour les produits importés de pays tiers.

Cette illustration représente le logo bio de l'Union européenne et ses explications

Obligations et contrôles

Avant la mise en libre pratique des produits biologiques importés, l’Administration des Services Techniques de l’Agriculture (ASTA) vérifie les documents et la marchandise lors d’une procédure d’inspection.  

Organisations concernées

L’Administration des Services Techniques de l’Agriculture est responsable du contrôle et de la certification des opérateurs (producteurs, préparateurs/transformateurs, distributeurs, importateurs) et des produits biologiques au Luxembourg. Elle est en charge de la vérification de la bonne utilisation de l’appellation bio sur les produits mis sur le marché, d’origine luxembourgeoise, européenne ou de pays tiers.

L’ASTA est responsable de l’accréditation des organismes privés de contrôle et de certification des produits biologiques qui opèrent sur le territoire national.

Les entreprises qui désirent importer des produits biologiques doivent d’abord soumettre leur entreprise au système de contrôle de l’agriculture biologique (contrat avec un organisme de contrôle agréé) et notifier leur activité à l’ASTA [article 28 du règlement européen N°834/2007].

Dernière mise à jour