TRACES

TRACES, which stands for TRAde Control and Expert System, is a free, multilingual information tool managed by the European Commission to facilitate exchanges between economic operators and administrations of Member States.

It is used to centralize, in one database, requests for veterinary health certificates for live animals and import declarations for goods  - Common Veterinary Entry Documents (CVED) or Common Entry Documents (CED) - in order to monitor the health of animals, reinforce food safety and facilitate trade between EU Member States or with third countries that use the system.

It also allows the control authorities of the different Member States to track goods, facilitate controls, and fight against fraud and protect public and animal health.

The new release of the tool called TRACES.NT is used to centralize Certificates Of Inspection for organic products (COI), phytosanitary certificates, FLEGT licenses and Common Health Entry Documents for Plants and Plant products (CHED-PP).

Related products

Animals and animal products, some foodstuffs, feed and food contact materials, as well as plants, plant products and organic products imported on the European territory or being moved within the intra-Community market must, in some cases, be registered in the TRACES system.

The table below indicates the cases in which notification in TRACES is required in Luxembourg:

Goods

Import

Intra-Community movement

Live animals

Notification in TRACES

Notification in TRACES

Animal products

Notification in TRACES

 

Foods subject to routine control

No TRACES notification

No TRACES notification

Foods subject to reinforced controls

Notification in TRACES when specified by applicable regulation

No TRACES notification

Food contact materials

Notification in TRACES when specified by applicable regulation

No TRACES notification

Feed

Procedure for notification in TRACES planned for the future

No TRACES notification

Plants and plant products

No TRACES notification

No TRACES notification

Organic products

Notification in TRACES

No TRACES notification

Wood (under FLEGT license)

Notification in TRACES

No TRACES notification

Getting started

Economic operators first request access to the TRACES system from the competent authority according to their area of activity.

In Luxembourg, the request for access is made to the Administration of Veterinary Services, Administration of Agricultural Technical Services or the Food Safety Unit according to the area of activity.

Presently, a company that is active in different areas must request access from each of the competent authorities.

User guides, videos and templates of official documents are available on a single access portal: the TRACES toolkit.

Operation

Once registered, an operator wishing to transport goods must complete an electronic form in a single format that contains all appropriate information concerning the animal or the product, the destination and any stages. Import notification must be made 24 hours prior to the arrival of the goods.

The operator may also register the accompanying documents of the goods in TRACES.  These documents will then be available for documentary control by the competent authority.

In the case of import or transit of animals or animal products from a third country, the veterinarian of the Border Inspection Post will perform the veterinary control and enter the result in the TRACES system. In the case of approval, access to the EU territory will be authorized and a Common Veterinary Entry Document (CVED) will be issued.

In the case of import or transit of foodstuffs of non-animal origin from a third country, the agent at the designated point of entry will perform the control and enter the result in the TRACES system. In the case of approval, the agent will authorize access to the European Union territory and issue a Common Entry Document (CED).

In the case of intra-Community movements of live animals, the competent authority will verify the contents of the form, will inspect the animals and will then either reject or approve the transport. In the case of approval, it will issue a health certificate and as necessary a road map. The operator can proceed with the transport only when the authorization has been received.

The TRACES information is sent to the competent authorities of the destination Member State, the central veterinary authority of the State(s) of transit and all appropriate control points. The information are then available during controls performed in route and/or at destination.

Last update

TRACES

TRACES, en anglais TRAde Control and Expert System, ou système expert de contrôle des échanges, est un outil informatique multilingue et gratuit géré par la Commission européenne facilitant les échanges entre les opérateurs économiques et les administrations des Etats membres.

Il permet de centraliser dans une base de données les demandes de certificats sanitaires vétérinaires pour les animaux vivants et les déclarations d’importations de marchandises - Document Vétérinaire Commun d’Entrée (DVCE) ou Document Commun d’Entrée (DCE) - afin de surveiller la santé des animaux, renforcer la sécurité alimentaire et faciliter le commerce entre Etats membres ou avec les pays tiers qui utilisent ce système.

Il permet également aux autorités de contrôle des différents Etats membres de pouvoir suivre la marchandise, faciliter le contrôle, lutter contre les fraudes et protéger la santé publique et animale.

La nouvelle version de l'outil appelée TRACES.NT permet de centraliser les certificats d'inspection pour produits biologiques, les certificats phytosanitaires, les autorisations FLEGT et les documents sanitaires communs d'entrée pour les végétaux et produits végétaux.

Produits concernés

Les animaux et produits d’origine animale, certains aliments, aliments pour animaux et matériaux en contact avec les produits alimentaires, ainsi que les végétaux, produits végétaux et les produits bio qui font l’objet d’un import sur le territoire de l’Union Européenne (UE) ou d’un mouvement sur le marché intracommunautaire doivent dans certains cas être enregistrés dans le système TRACES.

Le tableau suivant indique dans quels cas les notifications dans TRACES sont nécessaires au Luxembourg :

Marchandises

Import

Mouvement intracommunautaire

Animaux vivants

Notification dans TRACES

Notification dans TRACES

Produits d’origine animale

Notification dans TRACES

 

Aliments soumis aux contrôle de routine

Pas de notification TRACES

Pas de notification TRACES

Aliments soumis à des contrôles renforcés

Notification dans TRACES si spécifié dans la règlementation en vigueur

Pas de notification TRACES

Matériaux en contact avec des aliments

Notification dans TRACES si spécifié dans la règlementation en vigueur

Pas de notification TRACES

Aliments pour animaux

Procédure de notification TRACES prévue à l’avenir

Pas de notification TRACES

Végétaux et produits végétaux

Pas de notification TRACES

Pas de notification TRACES

Produits bio

Notification dans TRACES

Pas de notification TRACES

Bois (sous licence FLEGT)

Notification dans TRACES

Pas de notification TRACES

Mise en route

Les opérateurs économiques demandent un accès au système TRACES auprès de l'autorité compétente pour leur domaine d’activité.

Au Luxembourg, la demande d’accès se fait auprès de l’Administration des services vétérinaires, l'Administration des Services Techniques de l'Agriculture ou la Division de la sécurité alimentaire selon le domaine d’activité.

Pour le moment, une entreprise active dans différents domaines devra demander un accès auprès de chacune des autorités compétentes.

Des manuels d’utilisation, vidéos  et modèles de documents officiels sont disponibles sur un portail d’accès unique : le TRACES toolkit.

Fonctionnement

Une fois enregistré, l’opérateur qui souhaite procéder à un transport de marchandise remplit un formulaire électronique au format unique qui contient toutes les informations appropriées concernant l'animal ou le produit, la destination et les éventuelles étapes. La notification doit être faite 24h avant l’arrivée de la marchandise.

Il peut enregistrer les documents d’accompagnement de la marchandise également dans TRACES. Ces documents seront alors disponibles pour le contrôle documentaire par l’autorité compétente.

Dans le cas d'importation ou de transit d'animaux ou de produits d’origine animale en provenance d’un pays tiers, le vétérinaire du poste d'inspection frontalier réalise son contrôle vétérinaire et introduit le résultat du contrôle dans le système TRACES. En cas d’accord, il autorise l'accès au territoire de l'UE et émet un DVCE.

Dans le cas d'importation ou de transit d’un produit alimentaire d’origine non-animale en provenance d’un pays tiers, l’agent du point d’entrée désigné réalise son contrôle et introduit le résultat dans le système TRACES. En cas d’accord, il autorise l'accès au territoire de l'UE et émet un DCE.

Dans le cas de mouvements intracommunautaires d’animaux vivants, l’autorité compétente vérifie le contenu du formulaire, inspecter les animaux et peut alors rejeter ou valider le transport. En cas d’accord, elle émet le certificat sanitaire et le cas échéant le plan de route. L'opérateur ne peut procéder au transport que s’il en a reçu l’autorisation.

Les informations de TRACES sont envoyées aux autorités compétentes de l'Etat membre de destination, à l'autorité vétérinaire centrale du ou des Etats de transit et à tous les points de contrôle appropriés. Ces informations peuvent dès lors être consultées lors des contrôles effectués en route et/ou à destination.

Dernière mise à jour