Administration of Veterinary Services

The Administration of Veterinary Services (ASV) plays a health control role in Luxembourg and ensures compliance with laws and regulations.

The mission of the ASV is to monitor animal health and the well-being of animals throughout their lives.

At the same time, its mission is to monitor public health by fighting against diseases transmissible to humans. For that purpose, the ASV ensures the safety, hygiene and adequate labeling of food products of animal origin.

The ASV reports both to the Ministry of Agriculture, viticulture and consumer protection for its mission related to animal health and protection, and to the Ministry of health for its mission related to control of food of animal origin.

Responsibilities

In the context of international trade, the ASV ensures control of imports originating from third countries and transit of animals and animal products (whether intended for human consumption or not) originating from those same countries. These controls are carried out at the Border Inspection Post (BIP).

The ASV checks the identity of animals and ensures the traceability of their movements in order to prevent and control contagious diseases. During intra-Community movements and exports, the ASV verifies the conditions of the transport of animals and their fitness for travel.

It conducts hygienic and sanitary controls on food of animal origin or other animal products, but also controls on establishments registered and approved for processing food products (slaughter houses, cutting plants, etc.).

The ASV is in charge of issuing health certificates for animals and animal products.

The ASV is also responsible for issuing CITES permits for animals and animal products in the context of the international trade of protected species.

For logistics, the ASV is in charge of the following controls:

Following these controls, it completes the Common Veterinary Entry Document (CVED) in the TRACES system.

Procedures

The ASV is responsible for issuing the following certificates and permits:

Online services

The ASV employs the TRACES system  used to track movements of live animals and animal products at the European level and establish CVED.

 

Some requests for certificates can be introduced to the ASV with MyGuichet.lu, the State plateform to complete administrative procedures online.

 

Double click to activate
Last update

Administration des Services Vétérinaires (ASV)

L’Administration des Services Vétérinaires (ASV) joue un rôle de contrôle sanitaire au Luxembourg et s’assure du respect des lois et règlements.

L’ASV a pour mission de surveiller la santé animale et le bien-être des animaux tout au long de leur vie.

Parallèlement, elle a pour mission de surveiller la santé publique en luttant contre les maladies transmissibles à l’homme. Pour cela l’ASV s'assure de la salubrité des aliments d'origine animale, de l'hygiène et de l'étiquetage adéquat. 

L’ASV dépend donc, à la fois du Ministère de l’Agriculture, de la Viticulture et du Développement rural pour ses missions relevant de la santé et de la protection des animaux, et partiellement du Ministère de la Santé pour ses missions de contrôle des aliments d’origine animale .

Responsabilités

Dans le contexte du commerce international, l’ASV assure un contrôle des importations en provenance de pays tiers et du transit des animaux et des produits d’origine animale (qu’ils soient destinés à la consommation humaine ou non) en provenance de ces mêmes pays. Ces contrôles sont réalisés au Poste d'Inspection Frontalier (PIF).

L’ASV contrôle l’identité des animaux et assure la traçabilité de leurs mouvements afin de prévenir et contrôler les maladies contagieuses. Lors des exportations et des transports intracommunautaires, l’ASV vérifie les conditions de transport des animaux et leur aptitude à voyager.

Elle assure un contrôle hygiénique et sanitaire des aliments issus d’animaux ou de produits d’origine animale, mais aussi des établissements enregistrés et agréés pour le traitement de produits alimentaires (abattoirs, ateliers de découpe, etc.).

L'ASV est en charge de l'émission des certificats sanitaires pour les animaux et produits d'origine animale.

L’ASV est également responsable de l’émission des permis CITES pour les animaux et pour les produits d’origine animale dans le cadre du commerce international des espèces protégées.

Dans le cadre de la logistique, l’ASV est en charge des contrôles suivants :

Suite à ses contrôles, elle complète le Document Vétérinaire Commun d'Entrée (DVCE) dans le système TRACES.

Démarches

L’ASV est responsable de l’attribution des certificats et permis suivants :

Services en ligne

L'ASV utilise le système TRACES de traçabilité européen pour gérer les mouvements des animaux et des produits d'origine animale et émettre les DVCE.

 

Certaines demandes de certificats peuvent être effectuées auprès de l'ASV avec MyGuichet.lu, la plateforme de l'Etat pour effectuer ses démarches administratives en ligne.

 

Double clic pour activer
Dernière mise à jour