Phytosanitary controls at import

Objectives

Phytosanitary control is an inspection procedure applicable to plants and plant products when they are imported.

The objective is to implement all measures for protection against the introduction of pests harmful to plants and plant products into the Community and against their spread within the European Union (EU).

Related products

Phytosanitary controls apply to plants and plant products. They also apply to some wood packaging materials.

In addition to usual control measures, if shipments of plants, plant products or potentially contaminated articles from a third country are likely to constitute a threat for the European Union, the Member States or the European Commission may take temporary emergency measures.

These measures consist in restricting imports from that third country, depending on the plants and/or plant products affected, the harmful pests concerned and/or the specific geographical areas concerned. These measures are temporary because they may be revoked when the harmful pest is eradicated.

Execution steps

Any company that imports plants or plant products must be registered with the Luxembourg Trade and Companies Register.

Some plants and plant products must be accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate delivered by the competent authorities of the exporting country. This phytosanitary certificate must be an original that was issued no later than 14 days before the goods left the territory of the exporting country.

The Administration of Agricultural Technical Services (ASTA) must be notified beforehand of the arrival of these goods.

In Luxembourg, the inspection is carried out at the first point of arrival in the EU by the ASTA. The two points of arrival on the territory of Luxembourg are the following:

  • the Luxembourg airport, the Air Navigation Administration
  • the customs center at Gasperich.

The inspection takes place in three phases:

  • a documentary inspection to make sure that the required documents are present, properly completed and in accordance with the transport document or the invoices relating to the consignments concerned
  • an identity control to make sure that the real composition of the shipment matches what is indicated in the documents
  • a physical phytosanitary control to make sure that the shipment is free from harmful plant pests.

If the goods are compliant, the ASTA will give its authorization from a phytosanitary point of view to allow them to enter the European market.

The ASTA invoices for phytosanitary inspection fees.  

Note: If the products are going to be shipped to EU Member States with which Luxembourg has bilateral agreements (Germany, Belgium, the Netherlands), the ASTA does not conduct any identity or physical control of the goods if the goods are delivered to a destination that has been approved as a place of inspection by the phytosanitary authorities of the destination country.  Only a documentary inspection is conducted by Customs on behalf of ASTA. A Plant Health Movement Document  is then delivered to authorize the goods to be transported to an approved place of destination.

The identity control and the physical phytosanitary control are then conducted at that place of destination. The goods are released for free circulation only after this final inspection in that Member State.

Related organizations

The Administration of Agricultural Technical Services conducts the phytosanitary controls on plants and plant products.

All companies that import plants and plant products must submit these goods to phytosanitary control.

Last update

Contrôles phytosanitaires à l'importation

Objectifs

Le contrôle phytosanitaire est une procédure d’inspection des végétaux et produits végétaux lors de leur importation.

L’objectif est de mettre en oeuvre toutes les mesures de protection contre l'introduction d'organismes nuisibles aux végétaux ou aux produits végétaux dans la Communauté et contre leur propagation à l'intérieur de l’Union Européenne (UE).

Produits concernés

Les contrôles phytosanitaires portent sur les végétaux et produits végétaux. Ils s’appliquent également à certains matériels d’emballage en bois.

En plus des mesures de contrôle habituelles, si des expéditions de végétaux, de produits végétaux ou d’articles potentiellement contaminés provenant d’un pays tiers sont susceptibles de constituer une menace pour l’UE, les Etats membres ou la Commission européenne peuvent prendre des mesures d’urgence temporaires.

Ces mesures consistent à restreindre les importations en provenance de ce pays en fonction des végétaux et/ou produits végétaux atteints, des organismes nuisibles incriminés et/ou des zones géographiques spécifiques concernées. Ces mesures sont temporaires parce qu’elles sont susceptibles d’être révoquées dès l’éradication de l’organisme nuisible.

Déroulement

Toute entreprise qui importe des végétaux ou des produits végétaux doit obligatoirement être inscrite au registre du commerce et des sociétés luxembourgeois.

Certains végétaux et produits végétaux importés doivent être accompagnés d’un certificat phytosanitaire délivré par les autorités compétentes du pays exportateur. Ce certificat phytosanitaire doit impérativement être un original ayant été émis au maximum 14 jours avant que la marchandise ne quitte le territoire du pays exportateur.

L’Administration des Services Techniques de l’Agriculture (ASTA) doit être prévenue au préalable de l'arrivée de ces marchandises.

Au Luxembourg, l’inspection est effectuée au niveau du premier point d’entrée dans l’UE par l’ASTA. Les deux points d’entrée sur le territoire du Luxembourg sont :

  • l’aéroport de Luxembourg, Administration de la navigation aérienne
  • le centre douanier à Gasperich.

L'inspection se déroule en trois phases :

  • un contrôle documentaire pour vérifier si les documents exigés sont présents, correctement remplis et concordants avec le document de transport ou les factures relatives aux lots concernés
  • un contrôle d'identité pour vérifier si la composition réelle de l'envoi correspond à ce qui est mentionné sur les documents
  • un contrôle physique phytosanitaire pour vérifier si l'envoi est exempt d'organismes nuisibles.

Si la marchandise est conforme, l’ASTA donne son autorisation pour qu’elle puisse entrer sur le marché européen d’un point de vue phytosanitaire.

L’ASTA facture des frais d’inspection phytosanitaire.

A noter : Si les produits sont destinés à des Etats membres avec lesquels le Luxembourg a des accords bilatéraux (Allemagne, Belgique et Pays-Bas), l’ASTA ne réalise pas de contrôle d'identité ni de contrôle physique des marchandises si elles sont envoyées vers une destination qui a été agréé comme lieu d'inspection par les autorités phytosanitaires du pays de destination. Seul le contrôle documentaire est mené par l'administration des douanes au nom de l’ASTA.  Un document phytosanitaire de transport (Plant Health Movement Document en anglais) est alors délivré et autorise la marchandise à être transportée vers un lieu de destination agréé.

Le contrôle d'identité et le contrôle physique phytosanitaire sont alors réalisés à ce lieu de destination. Les marchandises ne sont mises en libre pratique qu'après l'inspection finale dans le pays membre de destination.

Organisations concernées

L’Administration des Services Techniques de l’Agriculture procède aux contrôles phytosanitaires sur les végétaux et produits végétaux.

Toute entreprise qui importe des végétaux ou des produits végétaux doit soumettre ses marchandises au contrôle phytosanitaire.

Dernière mise à jour