FLEGT license

Definition

FLEGT authorizations are documents issued by timber producing countries that have approved a Voluntary Partnership Agreement (VPA) with the European Union (EU).

This authorization confirms that the timber or timber products fully comply with the laws of the exporting country.

Timber under FLEGT license and its timber products are then considered as compliant with the requirements of the EU Timber Regulation, which prohibits EU importers and EU timber producers from placing illegally harvested timber or timber products on the EU market.

Note: certification, i.e. the procedure for evaluating the risks of their system of due diligence and verification by a third-party includes a mechanism for the verification of the compliance with applicable laws, must not be confused with FLEGT license and is not proof of legal sourcing of timber.

This picture represents the first page of a FLEGT license

Products concerned

Each VPA includes an appendix indicating the products covered by the FLEGT licensing scheme of the country in question. These are :

  • rough timber

example: logs

  • timber used for energy 

example: heating timber, chips, pellets

  • milled timber

example: lumber, veneers, plywood, wood fiber or particle board

  • timber products

example: furniture, frames, floor coverings, boxes, beams

  • paper pulp and paper.

Related documents

Starting 15 November 2016, operators importing timber and timber products  from Indonesia must present a FLEGT license delivered by the competent Indonesian authorities. This authorization will then be validated by the competent authority of the EU Member State in which the release for free circulation took place. The importer must use the TRACES system to notify the FLEGT license to the Member State of destination.

Note:  other Voluntary Partnership Agreements are being implemented with Cameroon, the Central African Republic, Ivory Coast, the Democratic Republic of the Congo and the Republic of the Congo, Gabon, Ghana, Guyana, Honduras, Laos, Liberia, Malaysia, Thailand and Vietnam.

The timber must also be accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate. Some protected essences, moreover, may require a CITES permit.

Related organizations

In Luxembourg, the Ministry of the Environment, Climate and Sustainable Development, via the Nature Conservation Agency is the competent authority for receiving, accepting, and verifying FLEGT authorizations issued by the delivering authority in the partner country.

Once the authorization has been approved, the importer can send it to the Customs and Excise Administration to carry out the customs clearance of the goods.

Last update

Autorisation FLEGT

Définition

Les autorisations FLEGT sont des documents émis par les pays producteurs de bois qui ont ratifié un Accord de Partenariat Volontaire (APV) avec l'Union Européenne (UE).

Cette autorisation confirme que le bois ou les produits dérivés du bois respectent pleinement les lois du pays d'exportation.

Le bois sous licence FLEGT et ses produits dérivés sont alors considérés comme conformes aux exigences du Règlement sur le bois de l'UE, qui interdit aux importateurs de l'UE et aux producteurs de bois de l'UE de mettre du bois ou des produits dérivés issus d’une récolte illégale sur le marché de l'UE.

A noter : la certification, c’est-à-dire la procédure d’évaluation des risques de leur système de due-diligence ou de vérification par une tierce partie qui comprend un mécanisme de vérification de la conformité avec la législation en vigueur, ne doit pas être confondue avec l’autorisation FLEGT et ne constitue pas une preuve d’exploitation légale du bois.

Cette image représente une licence FLEGT

Produits concernés

Chaque APV comporte une annexe indiquant les produits couverts par le régime d’autorisation FLEGT du pays correspondant. Il s’agit notamment :

  • des bois bruts

             exemple : grumes

  • des bois à usage énergétique

             exemple : bois de chauffage, copeaux, pellets

  • des bois usinés

            exemple : sciage, placage, contreplaqué, panneaux de bois en fibre ou particules

  • des produits en bois

            exemple : meubles, cadres, revêtements de sol, caisses, charpente

  • des pâtes à papier et papiers.

Documents liés

A compter du 15 novembre 2016, les opérateurs qui importent du bois et des produits du bois provenant d’Indonésie doivent présenter une autorisation FLEGT délivrée par les autorités compétentes indonésiennes. Cette autorisation est ensuite validée par l'autorité compétente de l’Etat membre de l’UE dans lequel a lieu la mise en libre pratique. L’importateur utilise le système TRACES pour notifier l’autorisation FLEGT à l’Etat membre de destination.

A noter : d’autres accords de partenariat volontaire sont en cours de déploiement avec le Cameroun, la République Centrafricaine, la Côte d’Ivoire, la République Démocratique du Congo et la République du Congo, le Gabon, le Ghana, la Guyane, le Honduras, le Laos, le Libéria, la Malaisie, la Thaïlande et le Vietnam.

Le bois doit être également accompagné d’un certificat phytosanitaire. Certaines essences protégées peuvent en outre nécessiter un permis CITES.

Organisations concernées

Au Luxembourg, le Ministère de l'Environnement, du Climat et du Développement durable, par le biais de l’Administration de la nature et des forêts est l’autorité compétente pour recevoir, accepter et vérifier les autorisations FLEGT émises par l’autorité de délivrance du pays partenaire.

Une fois l’autorisation validée, l’importateur peut la transmettre à l’Administration des douanes et accises afin d’effectuer le dédouanement de la marchandise.

Dernière mise à jour