Certificate of preferential origin

Definition

Recognition of a preferential origin allows goods to benefit from reduced or nil customs duties when they are imported from third countries. These privileges are specified in the preferential agreements that the European Union (EU) maintains with a large number of third countries.

The preferential origin of the goods must be demonstrated by a certificate from the customs authorities of the exporting country that must, in principle, be presented at the time of customs clearance.

This certificate is completely different in its form and function from the certificate of non-preferential origin.

A certificate of preferential origin allows to benefit from reduced or nil customs duties rates on importation. The type of certificate to produce is determined by each preferential agreement. The main certificates of preferential origin are the following:

  • the EUR.1 movement certificate, used for example in exchanges with Switzerland
  • the EUR-MED certificate in the Pan-Euro-Mediterranean zone, used for example in exchanges with Tunisia
  • the EUR.2 form as part of the agreement with Syria
  • the Form A certificate of origin in the Generalized System of Preferences (GSP), that is being replaced on a step by step basis by the REX system.

Note: the A.TR movement certificate is established as part of the Customs Union with Turkey, except for coal and steel products and certain agricultural products (for which an EUR.1 certificate must be established).

This picture represents a certificate of preferential origin EUR.1

Related procedures

The procedure to request a certificate of preferential origin to export goods is described on the Guichet.lu website:

Related documents

The certificate of preferential origin may, in certain cases, be replaced by an Invoice Declaration. The Invoice Declaration can be used:

  • by all exporters, for goods whose value does not exceed €6,000 with some exceptions
  • by an approved exporter, regardless of the value of the goods. The approved exporter status should be requested from the Customs and Excise Administration.

As part of GSP preferential origins, the Form A and the Invoice Declaration are being progressively replaced starting in 2017 by a statement of origin on invoice by a registered exporter (REX system). The registered exporter status must be requested from the Customs and Excise Administration, who assigns to the approved exporter a REX identification number (Registered EXporter).

The registered exporter status is also used in the context of the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA) in place between the EU and Canada. It should be used in future preferential agreements implemented with the EU.

Related organizations

The Customs and Excise Administration delivers certificates of preferential origin in Luxembourg.

Last update

Certificat d'origine préférentielle

Définition

La reconnaissance d’une origine préférentielle permet à une marchandise de bénéficier de droits de douane réduits ou nuls lors de son importation depuis un pays tiers. Ces privilèges sont prévus dans les accords préférentiels que l’Union Européenne (UE) entretient avec un grand nombre de pays tiers.

L’origine préférentielle de la marchandise doit être prouvée par un certificat des autorités douanières du pays d’exportation qui doit, en principe, être présenté au moment du dédouanement.

C’est un certificat tout à fait différent dans sa forme et dans sa fonction, du certificat d’origine non préférentielle.

Le certificat d’origine préférentielle permet de bénéficier de taux de droits de douane nuls ou réduits à l’importation. Le type de certificat à produire est déterminé par chaque accord préférentiel. Les principaux certificats d’origine préférentielle sont :

A noter : le certificat de circulation A.TR est établi dans le cadre de l’Union douanière en place avec la Turquie, sauf pour les produits du charbon et de l’acier et pour certains produits agricoles (pour lesquels un certificat EUR.1 doit alors être établi).

Cette image représente un certificat d'origine préférentielle EUR.1

Démarches liées

La démarche de demande de certificat d'origine préférentielle pour l'exportation d'une marchandise est décrite sur le site du Guichet.lu :

Documents liés

Le certificat d’origine préférentielle peut être remplacé, dans certains cas, par une Déclaration d’Origine sur Facture (DOF). La DOF peut être utilisée :

  • par tous les exportateurs, pour une marchandise dont la valeur ne dépasse pas 6.000 euros sauf exceptions
  • par un exportateur agréé, quelle que soit la valeur de la marchandise. Le statut d’exportateur agréé est à demander à l’Administration des douanes et accises.

Dans le cadre des origines préférentielles SPG, le certificat d'origine formule A et la DOF sont progressivement remplacés à partir de 2017 par une attestation d’origine sur facture par un exportateur enregistré (système REX). Le statut d’exportateur enregistré est à demander à l’Administration des douanes, qui délivre à l'exportateur agréé un numéro d'identification REX (Registered EXporter en anglais).

Le status d'exportateur enregistré est aussi utilisé dans le contexte de l'accord CETA (Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement en anglais) établi entre l'UE et le Canada. Il est prévu de l'utiliser dans les futurs accords préférentiels mis en place par l'UE.  

Organisations concernées

L'Administration des douanes et accises délivre les certificats d'origine préférentielle au Luxembourg.

Dernière mise à jour