Origin of goods

The customs origin must be determined for the release for free circulation or for the exportation of goods.

It defines the country in which the goods were produced, manufactured or sufficiently processed. It should be differentiated from the provenance, which is a geographical notion referring to the physical flow of the goods. A change in the customs status of the goods does not modify its customs origin.

Example: Goods manufactured in Brazil are sent from Argentina, without being further processed, and are released for free circulation in Luxembourg. Even if the goods have an argentinian provenance and even if their customs status has changed to Union goods after the customs declaration in Luxembourg, their customs origin remains Brazil.

Customs origin covers two different notions:

  • non-preferential origin that determines the application of commercial policy measures such as prohibitions and restrictions, as well as "made in" label
  • preferential origin that allows to reduce or eliminate customs duties.

If there is any doubt concerning non-preferential origin or preferential origin of the goods, a request for Binding Origin Information (BOI) may be made to the Customs Administration. The BOI confirms the origin of the concerned goods for a period of 3 years.

Non-preferential origin of goods

On importation in the customs territory of the European Union (EU), non-preferential origin determines the application:

It is also used for the origin marking on products: "made in".

For a product to be considered as originating from a country, the goods must have been entirely obtained there (minerals, plants, animals or goods that have been manufactured exclusively from these products, etc.) or they must have undergone there the last "substantial" processing.

In this latter case, goods produced in two or more countries are considered as originating from the country:

  • where the last substantial processing took place
  • economically demonstrated
  • carried out in a company equipped for processing
  • and having resulted in a new product.

The document demonstrating the origin of goods is the certificate of non-preferential origin.

Preferential origin of goods

Recognition of preferential origin allows goods to benefit from reduced or nil customs duty rates when they are imported. These privileges are specified in the preferential agreements that the EU maintains with a large number of third countries.

Each preferential agreement defines the conditions that goods must meet in order to be considered as "product originating in" and obtain preferential origin status.

All preferential agreements specify that the goods must have been obtained in the country or have been subject to "sufficient" processing in order to be considered as a "product originating in". Processing is generally considered as sufficient when its effect is to classify the product obtained in a different 4-digit tariff heading than that of the materials used in the manufacturing. However this rule might differ depending on the nature of the products and the preferential origin agreement at stake.

For example: orange juice (20.09) manufactured in Luxembourg from oranges (08.05) imported from Florida is considered as of EU origin.

Each preferential agreement must be consulted before exporting or importing goods in a specific country. Indeed, different or additional conditions may be specified to benefit from the advantages of preferential origin.

The status of "product originating in" must be demonstrated by a certificate of preferential origin (in particular EUR1) approved by the customs authorities of the country of exportation. In some circumstances, a declaration of origin on a commercial document clearly identifying the products may or shall replace this certificate.

Last update

Origine d'une marchandise

L’origine douanière doit être déterminée pour la mise en libre pratique ou pour l’exportation d’une marchandise.

Elle définit le pays dans lequel la marchandise a été produite, fabriquée ou suffisamment transformée. Elle est à différencier de la provenance (notion géographique, qui renvoie au flux physique de la marchandise). Le changement de statut douanier de la marchandise ne modifie pas son origine douanière.

Exemple : Une marchandise fabriquée au Brézil est expédiée depuis l'Argentine, sans y avoir été transformée, et est mise en libre pratique au Luxembourg. Bien qu'elle soit de provenance argentine et qu'elle ait le statut douanier de bien de l'Union suite à sa déclaration en douane au Luxembourg, son origine douanière reste le Brézil.

L’origine douanière recouvre deux notions différentes :

  • l’origine non préférentielle, qui détermine l'application de mesures de politique commerciale telles que les prohibitions et restrictions, ainsi que le "made in"
  • l’origine préférentielle, qui permet l’application de droits de douane réduits ou nuls.

En cas de doute sur l’origine non préférentielle ou sur l’origine préférentielle de la marchandise, une demande de Renseignement Contraignant sur l’Origine (RCO) peut être faite auprès de l’Administration des douanes. Le RCO confirme alors l’origine concernée de la marchandise, pour une durée de 3 ans.

L’origine non préférentielle d’une marchandise

A l'importation sur le territoire douanier de l’Union Européenne (UE), l’origine non préférentielle détermine notamment l’application :

Elle est également utilisée pour procéder au marquage de l'origine sur les produits : "made in".

Pour être considérée comme produit originaire d’un pays, la marchandise doit y avoir été entièrement obtenue (minéraux, végétaux, animaux, ou marchandises qui y sont fabriquées exclusivement à partir de ces produits, etc.) ou y avoir subi la dernière transformation "substantielle".

Dans ce dernier cas, une marchandise produite dans deux ou plusieurs pays est originaire du pays :

  • où a eu lieu la dernière transformation substantielle
  • économiquement justifiée
  • effectuée dans une entreprise équipée pour la transformation
  • et ayant abouti à un produit nouveau.

Le document qui justifie de l’origine d’une marchandise est le certificat d’origine non préférentielle.

L’origine préférentielle d’une marchandise

La reconnaissance de l’origine préférentielle permet à une marchandise de bénéficier de droits de douane réduits ou nuls, lors de son importation. Ces privilèges sont prévus dans les accords préférentiels que l’UE entretient avec un grand nombre de pays tiers.

Chaque accord préférentiel définit les conditions qu’une marchandise doit remplir pour être considérée comme "produit originaire" et obtenir l’origine préférentielle.

Tous les accords préférentiels prévoient que la marchandise doit avoir été obtenue dans un pays ou y avoir subi une transformation "suffisante" pour être considérée comme "produit originaire". Une transformation est généralement considérée comme suffisante lorsqu’elle a pour effet de classer le produit obtenu dans une position tarifaire à 4 chiffres différente de celle des matières mises en œuvre dans la fabrication. Cependant cette règle peut varier en fonction de la nature des produits et de l'accord préférentiel en question.

Exemple : du jus d’orange (20.09) fabriqué au Luxembourg à partir d’oranges (08.05) importées de Floride est considéré comme d’origine UE.

Il faut consulter chaque accord préférentiel avant d’exporter ou d’importer une marchandise dans un pays précis. En effet des conditions différentes ou supplémentaires peuvent être prévues pour bénéficier des avantages de l’origine préférentielle.

La qualité de "produit originaire" doit être attestée par un certificat d’origine préférentielle (notamment EUR1) approuvé par les autorités douanières du pays d’exportation. Sous certaines conditions, une déclaration d’origine sur un document commercial identifiant clairement les produits peut ou doit remplacer ce certificat.

Dernière mise à jour