Pharmacy and Medication Department

The Pharmacy and Medication Department is part of the National Health Directorate under the authority of the Ministry of Health.

It has authority over all questions relating to the pharmacy industry and related professions in the public and private sectors, as well as questions relating to medicinal products for human use in general and more particularly, the manufacture of medicinal products, their control, marketing, advertising, distribution, importation and exportation.

Its authority also extends to drug precursors, narcotics and psychotropics, veterinary medicinal products, cosmetic and hygienic products as well as genetically modified organisms.

Responsibilities

In the context of international trade, the Pharmacy and Medication Department verifies the conditions of the marketing of the products that it monitors and delivers, as appropriate, import and export authorizations on a case-by-case basis (drug precursors, narcotics and psychotropics).

The transport, storage and handling of medicinal products for human and veterinary uses are subject to strict rules that are called Good Distribution Practices (GDP). These practices must be carried out in appropriate conditions defined by marketing authorizations or other specifications directly related to the products in question.

Organizations that must follow good distribution practices are the following:

  • holders of manufacture and import authorizations
  • holders of authorizations for wholesale distribution

The Pharmacy and Medication Department carries out inspections to make sure that the distribution sites are compliant with the requirements of good practices. Certificates of good distribution practices and authorization of wholesale distribution are delivered as appropriate by the Ministry of Health.

Double click to activate
Last update

Division de la Pharmacie et des Médicaments

La Division de la Pharmacie et des Médicaments (DPM) relève de la Direction de la Santé qui est sous la tutelle du Ministre de la Santé.

Elle a compétence pour toutes les questions relatives à l'exercice de la pharmacie et des professions connexes dans les secteurs public et privé ainsi que pour les questions relatives aux médicaments en général et plus particulièrement : la fabrication des médicaments, leur contrôle, leur mise sur le marché, leur publicité, leur distribution, leur importation et leur exportation.

Sa compétence s’étend également aux précurseurs de drogues, narcotiques et psychotropes, aux médicaments vétérinaires, aux produits cosmétiques et hygiéniques ainsi qu’aux organismes génétiquement modifiés.

Responsabilités

Dans le contexte du commerce international, la Division de la Pharmacie et des Médicaments vérifie les conditions de mise sur le marché des produits dont elle assure la surveillance et délivre, le cas échéant, les autorisations d’importation ou d’exportation au cas par cas (précurseurs de drogues, narcotiques et psychotropes).

Le transport, le stockage et la manipulation de médicaments à usage humain et vétérinaires sont soumis aux règles strictes de ce qu’on appelle les Bonnes Pratiques de Distribution (BPD). Ces activités doivent se dérouler selon des conditions appropriées définies par les autorisations de mise sur le marché ou par d’autres spécifications directement liées aux produits en question.

Les organisations qui doivent répondre aux bonnes pratiques de distribution sont :

  • les détenteurs d’autorisation de fabrication de médicaments
  • les détenteurs d’autorisation de commerce en gros de médicaments

La Division de la Pharmacie et des Médicaments effectue des inspections afin de vérifier si les sites de distribution sont conformes aux exigences des bonnes pratiques. Des certificats de bonnes pratiques de distribution et des autorisations de commerce en gros seront le cas échéant délivrés par le Ministre de la santé.
 

Double clic pour activer
Dernière mise à jour