Commercial documents

For international trade, several commercial documents are used during exchanges between operators.

Sales contract

The sales contract is the initial document that specifies the seller's obligation to deliver the agreed-upon goods and the buyer's obligation to pay for them. The sales contract defines the goods sold as well as the conditions of the sale and delivery, in principle specifying the Incoterm chosen by the parties. The form of the sales contract is generally open: it may be supplemented by general conditions of sale or even replaced by a purchase order.

Pro forma invoice

The pro forma invoice is a provisional invoice without accounting value that serves as a proposal for a commercial offering. A buyer may use a pro forma invoice to obtain an import authorization. It also contains the conditions of sale of the goods. If the offering and conditions are confirmed by the buyer, this buyer will send a purchase order to the seller.

Commercial invoice

The commercial invoice is the reference document for any logistics transaction. It is used to establish the export and import declaration, the transport title, the documents of origin and any payment by documentary credit. It is therefore required for any international consignment and is always required for customs clearance. It contains the basic information on the transaction, in particular:

  • contact information of shipper and recipient (name and address)
  • date of issuance
  • invoice number
  • designation of goods (name, type, etc.)
  • units of measurement
  • quantity of goods
  • unit value
  • total value of items
  • total value of invoice and payment currency
  • conditions of payment (method and date of payment, discount, etc.)
  • conditions of delivery in accordance with chosen Incoterm
  • method(s) of transport

It should be noted that Luxembourg VAT law imposes mandatory wording on sales invoices.

Packing list

The packing list is a document that lists all the packages in a shipment. It is attached to the commercial invoice and the transport documents and is used to verify the compliance of the shipment with the order. This is an item required by customs that shows the identification of each package (brands, gross and net weight, sizes, volume, contents etc.).

Letter of credit

The letter of credit, also called documentary credit, is a bank's commitment to pay a determined amount to a shipper of goods, against the remittance, within a set time, of compliance documents proving that the goods have indeed been shipped. Documentary credit is subject to strict rules issued by the International Chamber of Commerce.

Certificate of insurance

The insurance covering the transported goods may be obtained directly from an insurance company, or provided by the carrier. It does not cover civil liability.

The insurance certificate is established by the insurance company. It documents the policy chosen: the value of the shipment, the insured value, the insurance premium and the coverage chosen. It will be used by the beneficiary in the case of damages.

Last update

Documents commerciaux

Dans le cadre du commerce international, plusieurs documents commerciaux sont utilisés lors des échanges entre opérateurs.

Le contrat de vente

Le contrat de vente est l’acte initial qui constate l’obligation du vendeur de livrer les biens convenus, et celle de l’acheteur de les payer. Il définit les biens vendus ainsi que les conditions de la vente et de la livraison, en précisant en principe l’Incoterm choisi par les parties. Sa forme est généralement libre : il peut être complété par des conditions générales de vente voire remplacé par un bon de commande.

La facture proforma

Il s’agit d’une facture provisoire, qui n’a pas de valeur comptable, mais qui constitue une proposition d’offre commerciale. Elle peut permettre à l’acheteur d’obtenir une autorisation pour l’importation par exemple. Elle contient également les conditions de vente de la marchandise. Si l’offre et les conditions sont confirmées par l’acheteur, ce dernier enverra un bon de commande au vendeur.

La facture commerciale

La facture commerciale est le document de référence pour toute opération logistique. Elle permet d'établir la déclaration d'exportation, d'importation, le titre de transport, les documents d'origine et éventuellement le règlement par crédit documentaire. Elle est donc exigée pour tout envoi international et toujours requise pour le dédouanement. Elle contient les informations de base sur la transaction, notamment :

  • les coordonnées de l’expéditeur et du destinataire (nom et adresse)
  • la date d’émission
  • le numéro de facture
  • la désignation des biens (nom, type, etc.)
  • l’unité de mesure
  • la quantité des biens
  • la valeur unitaire
  • la valeur totale des articles
  • la valeur totale de la facture et la devise de paiement
  • les conditions de paiement (mode et date de paiement, ristournes, etc.)
  • les conditions de livraison conformément à l’Incoterm adéquat
  • le(s) moyen(s) de transport.

A noter que la loi TVA luxembourgeoise impose des mentions obligatoires sur les factures de vente.

La liste de colisage

La liste de colisage (packing list, en anglais) est un document répertoriant tous les colis qui constituent une expédition. Elle est jointe à la facture commerciale et aux documents de transport et permet de vérifier la conformité de l’expédition à la commande. Il s’agit d’une pièce exigée par les douanes reprenant l’identification de chaque colis (marques, numéros, poids brut et net, dimensions, cubage, contenu, etc.).

La lettre de crédit

La lettre de crédit, également appelée crédit documentaire, est l’engagement d’une banque de payer un montant déterminé à l’expéditeur d’une marchandise, contre remise, dans un délai fixé, de documents conformes prouvant que la marchandise a été expédiée. Le crédit documentaire est soumis à des règles strictes édictée par la Chambre de Commerce Internationale.

Le certificat d’assurance

L’assurance couvrant les marchandises transportées peut être souscrite soit directement auprès d’une compagnie d’assurance, soit auprès du transporteur. Elle ne couvre pas la responsabilité civile.

Le certificat d’assurance est établi par la compagnie d’assurance. Il matérialise la police choisie : la valeur de l’envoi, la valeur assurée, la prime de l’assurance et la garantie choisie. Il sera utilisé par le bénéficiaire en cas de dommages.

Dernière mise à jour