Explosives

Definition

Explosives are defined in the United Nations recommendations relating to the transport of dangerous goods.

An explosive substance is a solid or liquid substance (or a mixture of substances) that itself is capable, in a
chemical reaction, of producing gas at such a temperature and pressure and at such a speed as to cause damage to the surroundings.  Pyrotechnic substances are included in this definition even if they do not emit gases.

A pyrotechnic substance is a substance (or mixture) used to produce an effect of temperature, light, sound, gas or smoke or a combination of such effects, as a result of chemical reactions.

Note: the law governing explosives for civil uses does not apply to explosives or ammunition for military uses or to pyrotechnics.

European laws specify special rules for dual-use goods, in particular the obligation to obtain an authorization to export or transit certain listed goods. This list of dual-use goods can contain certain explosives.

Likewise, there is an authorization system for the import, export, transit and transfer of some arms and military equipment, including certain explosive substances.

An explosive precursor is a substance or mixture that may be misused in the illicit manufacture of explosives.

Obligations and controls

Explosives for civil use available on the European Union market must bear the “CE” marking to show that they are compliant with all of the essential safety requirements specified by European regulations. For that, manufacturers must carry out a compliance evaluation, establish the detailed technical documentation of their products and be able to demonstrate traceability.

The documentation and safety information must be written in one of the national languages or else in English, so that such documentation and information can be easily understood by users.

Manufacturers and importers must moreover indicate their postal address on the explosive.

Importers must also ensure that the manufacturers have carried out the compliance evaluations and inform the designated national authority for safety control (the ILNAS in Luxembourg) if they believe that the explosives represent a risk.

All of the necessary documents must be stored and kept for a period of 10 years.

No intra-Community movement of explosives may be carried out if the recipient has not obtained the necessary authorizations for that purpose.

If there is adequate proof that the explosive products are subject to illicit acquisition, use, or trafficking, these products may be seized.

In order to prevent the criminal or terrorist use of homemade explosives, the public at large is not authorized to purchase, hold, use or introduce in the territory, any of the substances listed in appendix I of the European regulation if their concentration exceeds the limit value indicated in the regulation.

Stores and companies must also inform the national point of contact of the Grand-Ducal Police of any suspect transactions of explosive precursors listed in Appendix II of the regulation, including transactions involving professional users.

Economic operators must also report any significant disappearance or theft of these substances, or of mixtures or substances containing them, to the national point of contact.

Related documents

To be able to transfer explosives to or within the national territory, the recipient must hold an authorization delivered by the Luxembourg Inspectorate of Labor and Mines (ITM), that verifies that the recipient is legally authorized to acquire explosives and that they hold the necessary licenses or authorizations.

The transfer authorization must accompany the goods during transport.

Transit through other Member States requires prior notification and approval of the competent foreign authorities in question.

Related organizations

The Inspectorate of Labor and Mines is the authority that delivers the necessary authorizations for the transfer of explosives to or within Luxembourg and is authorized to perform the related controls.

The ILNAS is the national authority designated for the control of the security of explosives. It is in charge of ensuring, with the help of the Customs and Excise Administration, that the explosives marketed in Luxembourg comply with all the provisions of the Grand-Ducal regulation, that they hold the CE marking and that they have undergone a conformity inspection.

Last update

Explosifs

Définition

Les explosifs sont définis dans les recommandations des Nations Unies relatives au transport de marchandises dangereuses.

Une matière explosible est une matière (ou un mélange de matières) solide ou liquide qui est en soi susceptible, par réaction chimique, de dégager des gaz à une température et une pression et à une vitesse telles qu’il en résulte des dégâts dans la zone environnante. Les matières pyrotechniques sont incluses dans cette définition même si elles ne dégagent pas de gaz.

Une matière pyrotechnique est une matière (ou un mélange) destinée à produire un effet calorifique, lumineux, sonore, gazeux ou fumigène ou une combinaison de tels effets, à la suite de réactions chimiques.

A noter : la loi sur les explosifs à usage civil ne s’applique ni aux explosifs et munitions à usage militaire, ni aux articles pyrotechniques.

La législation européenne prévoit des règles particulières pour les biens à double usage, notamment l’obligation d’obtenir une autorisation pour l’exportation ou le transit des biens indiqués dans une liste. Cette liste de biens à double usage peut contenir certains explosifs.

De même, il existe un système d'autorisations pour l’importation, l’exportation, le transit et le transfert de certains armements et équipements militaires, dont certaines matières explosives.

Un précurseur d’explosif est une substance ou un mélange susceptible d’être utilisé d’une manière détournée pour la fabrication illicite d’explosifs.

Obligations et contrôles

Les explosifs à usage civil mis à disposition sur le marché de l’Union européenne doivent porter le marquage « CE » de conformité afin de montrer qu’ils sont conformes à l’ensemble des exigences essentielles de sécurité prévues par la règlementation européenne. Pour cela, les fabricants doivent effectuer une évaluation de la conformité, établir la documentation technique détaillée de leurs produits et être en mesure d’en assurer la traçabilité.

La documentation et les informations de sécurité doivent être rédigées dans une des langues du pays ou bien en anglais, de manière à être aisément compréhensible par les utilisateurs.

Les fabricants et importateurs doivent en outre indiquer leur adresse postale sur l’explosif.

Les importateurs doivent également s’assurer que les fabricants ont bien effectué les évaluations de conformité et informer l’autorité nationale désignée pour le contrôle de la sécurité (l’ILNAS au Luxembourg) s’ils estiment que les explosifs représentent un risque.

L’ensemble des documents nécessaires doit être consigné et conservé pendant une durée de dix ans.

Aucun mouvement intracommunautaire d’explosifs ne peut être réalisé si le destinataire n’a pas obtenu les autorisations nécessaires à cet effet.

S’il existe des preuves suffisantes que des produits explosifs font l’objet d’une acquisition, d’un usage ou d’un trafic illicites, ces produits peuvent être saisis.

Afin de prévenir l’utilisation criminelle, voire terroriste, des explosifs artisanaux, le grand public n’est pas autorisé à acheter, détenir, utiliser ou introduire sur le territoire, les substances énumérées dans l’annexe I du règlement européen si leur concentration dépasse la valeur limite indiquée au règlement.

Les magasins et entreprises doivent également communiquer au point de contact national de la police grand-ducale les transactions suspectes de précurseurs d’explosifs énumérées dans l'annexe II du règlement, y compris les transactions impliquant des utilisateurs professionnels.

Les opérateurs économiques signalent également toute disparition importante ou vol important de ces substances, et de mélanges ou substances qui les contiennent, au point de contact national.

Documents liés

Pour pouvoir réaliser un transfert d'explosifs à destination ou à l’intérieur du territoire national, le destinataire doit être en possession d'une autorisation délivrée par l’Inspection du Travail et des Mines (ITM) qui vérifie que le destinataire est légalement habilité à acquérir des explosifs et qu’il détient les autorisations ou licences nécessaires.

L’autorisation de transfert accompagne la marchandise durant le transport.

Le transit par d’autres Etats membres nécessite une notification préalable et un accord des autorités compétentes étrangères concernées.

Organisations concernées

L’Inspection du Travail et des Mines est l'autorité qui délivre les autorisations nécessaires aux transferts d'explosifs à destination ou à l'intérieur du Luxembourg et est habilité à effectuer les contrôles liés.

L’ILNAS est l’autorité nationale désignée pour le contrôle de la sécurité des explosifs. Elle est en charge, en collaboration avec l’Administration des douanes et accises, de veiller à ce que les explosifs mis sur le marché au Luxembourg respectent toutes les dispositions du règlement grand-ducal, qu'ils soient munis du marquage CE et qu'ils aient fait l'objet d'une évaluation de leur conformité.

Dernière mise à jour