VAT Setup

Prerequisites & facilitations

A company that supplies goods from Luxembourg or that purchases and receives goods in Luxembourg must declare its transactions to the Luxembourg Registration Duties, Estates and VAT Authority (AED). It therefore must have a Luxembourg VAT number.  

A foreign company that is neither established nor registered for VAT in Luxembourg may, in certain cases, authorize an approved tax representative established in Luxembourg to declare its purchases and sales transactions. The tax representative will replace the foreign company to fulfil its Luxembourg VAT obligations.

In what cases must an operator have a VAT number?

Companies that are established in Luxembourg that purchase and/or resell or lease goods, or carry out certain services, must register for Luxembourg VAT, regardless of the location of the goods in the world.

Companies that are not established in Luxembourg must register for Luxembourg VAT in the following cases:

  • when they import goods into Luxembourg in order to sell them or transfer them to another Member State
  • when they purchase goods that are delivered in Luxembourg in order to resell them in Luxembourg or abroad
  • when they supply or receive taxable services in Luxembourg.

Note: companies that are not established in Luxembourg and that only conduct exempt transactions under the Luxembourg VAT suspensive arrangements are not required to register for Luxembourg VAT.

For example: as sole activity in Luxembourg, a Swiss company purchases goods that are stored in a free zone and sells them within the free zone. This Swiss company is not required to register for Luxembourg VAT in order to declare the sale.

How to obtain a Luxembourg VAT number?

Companies that need to obtain a Luxembourg VAT number should file an initial VAT return with the competent tax office of the Registration Duties, Estates and VAT Authority.

Foreign companies without headquarters or any permanent establishment in Luxembourg must contact the Tax Office Luxembourg 10.

Note: companies that are not established in the fiscal territory of the European Union (EU) may be required to provide a cash deposit or a guarantee letter to the Registration Duties, Estates and VAT Authority in order to guarantee the fulfillment of their VAT obligations.

Option for foreign companies: VAT tax representation

Any foreign company that is not established nor registered for Luxembourg VAT may appoint, prior to a specific transaction, an approved Luxembourg tax representative who, after accepting the appointment, will declare these transactions on its behalf. This possibility is available to companies established in the tax territory of the EU, as well as to the ones established outside of the EU.

The Luxembourg tax representative must hold a special accreditation with assignment of a specific VAT number. The tax representative will use its specific VAT number for the transactions of foreign companies it agreed to represent, and will declare all their transactions in a single monthly VAT return for all the companies it represents.

The appointment of a tax representative is possible for certain types of flows only. It should be noted that there are two types of tax representation in Luxembourg: tax representation for imported goods and tax representation for goods in a VAT suspensive arrangement. An operator wishing to act as a tax representative for the two types of activities must hold two accreditations and two separate specific VAT numbers.

Other VAT obligations

All companies identified for Luxembourg VAT must adhere to the general laws and regulations applicable in Luxembourg and, in particular, fulfill the following obligations:

  • file periodic VAT returns and recapitulative statements
  • file Intrastat declarations when the conditions are met
  • issue invoices in compliance with the requirements of the Luxembourg VAT law
  • maintain its accounting in compliance with the requirements of the Luxembourg VAT law
  • keep their documents and data for 10 years.
Last update

Mise en place TVA

Prérequis & facilitations TVA

Une entreprise qui livre des marchandises depuis le Luxembourg ou qui achète et reçoit des marchandises au Luxembourg doit déclarer ses opérations auprès de l’Administration de l'enregistrement, des domaines et de la TVA (AED). Elle doit alors détenir à cet effet un numéro de TVA luxembourgeois.

Une entreprise étrangère, qui n’est ni établie ni identifiée à la TVA au Luxembourg, peut dans certains cas mandater un représentant fiscal agréé établi au Luxembourg qui déclare les opérations d’achats / de ventes de celle-ci et qui se substitue ainsi à l’entreprise étrangère pour les obligations en matière de TVA.

Dans quels cas faut-il un numéro de TVA ?

Les entreprises établies au Luxembourg qui achètent et/ou revendent ou louent des biens ou effectuent certaines prestations de services doivent s’identifier à la TVA luxembourgeoise, peu importe où les biens en question sont localisés dans le monde.

Les entreprises non établies au Luxembourg doivent s’identifier à la TVA luxembourgeoise notamment dans les cas suivants :

  • elles importent des biens au Luxembourg en vue de les revendre ou de les transférer dans un autre Etat membre
  • elles achètent des biens livrés au Luxembourg en vue de les revendre au Luxembourg ou à l’étranger
  • elles effectuent ou reçoivent des prestations de services taxables au Luxembourg.

A noter : les entreprises non établies au Luxembourg et qui y réalisent uniquement des transactions exonérées au sein d’un régime suspensif de TVA au Luxembourg sont dispensées de l’obligation de s’identifier à la TVA.

Exemple : comme seule activité au Luxembourg, une entreprise suisse achète des biens qui sont stockés en zone franche et les revend avec maintien dans la zone franche. Cette entreprise suisse n’a pas l’obligation de s’identifier à la TVA luxembourgeoise pour déclarer cette vente.

Comment obtenir un numéro de TVA luxembourgeois ?

Les entreprises qui doivent obtenir un numéro de TVA luxembourgeois déposent une déclaration initiale de TVA auprès du bureau d’imposition compétent de l’Administration de l’enregistrement, des domaines et de la TVA.

Les entreprises étrangères sans siège ni établissement stable au Luxembourg dépendent toutes du Bureau d’imposition de Luxembourg 10.

A noter : les entreprises qui ne sont pas établies sur le territoire fiscal de l’Union Européenne (UE) peuvent être obligées de fournir un cautionnement ou une lettre de garantie à l’Administration de l'enregistrement, des domaines et de la TVA afin de garantir le bon accomplissement de leurs obligations TVA.

Option pour les entreprises étrangères : la représentation fiscale en matière de TVA

Toute entreprise étrangère qui n’est pas établie ou identifiée à la TVA au Luxembourg peut mandater, préalablement à l'opération à effectuer, un représentant fiscal agréé luxembourgeois qui, après acceptation du mandat, déclarera ses opérations pour son compte. Cette possibilité est ouverte aux entreprises établies dans le territoire fiscal de l’UE et en dehors.

Le représentant fiscal luxembourgeois doit disposer d’un agrément particulier avec attribution d’un numéro de TVA spécifique. Il utilise ce numéro de TVA spécifique dans le cadre des opérations des entreprises étrangères dont il a accepté la mission de représentant fiscal et déclare mensuellement toutes leurs opérations dans une déclaration de TVA unique pour toutes les entreprises représentées.

La désignation d’un représentant fiscal est possible pour certains types de flux seulement. A noter qu'il existe deux types de représentation fiscale au Luxembourg : la représentation fiscale pour des biens importés et la représentation fiscale pour des biens en régime suspensif de TVA. Un opérateur souhaitant agir comme représentant fiscal pour ces deux types d’activités doit disposer de deux agréments et deux numéros de TVA spécifiques distincts.

Autres obligations TVA

Toute entreprise identifiée à la TVA luxembourgeoise doit respecter les lois et réglementations générales applicables au Luxembourg, et notamment :

  • déposer périodiquement les déclarations de TVA et états récapitulatifs
  • déposer les déclarations Intrastat si les conditions sont remplies
  • émettre ses factures en conformité avec les règles prévues par la loi TVA luxembourgeoise
  • tenir une comptabilité en conformité avec les règles prévues par la loi TVA luxembourgeoise
  • conserver ses documents et données pendant 10 ans.
Dernière mise à jour