Luxembourg at a glance

Luxembourg is a country 2,586 km2 in size with a population of 626,000 including 48% foreigners (as of 2020), located in the heart of Europe between Germany, France and Belgium. Two-thirds of the foreign workers in Luxembourg are cross-border workers residing in the three neighboring countries.

The three administrative languages of the country are  Luxembourgish, German and French. The people of Luxembourg are cosmopolitan and English is commonly used.

Its capital is Luxembourg City that was founded in the year 963. Luxembourg City has many historical sites, and its fortress is a UNESCO world heritage site. Today Luxembourg is one of the largest world financial centers, and it is along with Brussels and Strasbourg one of the capitals of the European Union (EU), of which it is a founding member.

The Logistics industry, composed mostly of transport and warehousing, employs 23,500 people and involves nearly 1,200 companies.

Concerning foreign trade, exports from Luxembourg represent (2019 figures):

  • over 13.2 billion euros, including 11.6 billion euros towards other countries of the European Union
  • over 10.4 billion euros total toward other countries of Europe, including non-Member States.

Its imports, moreover, represent more than 20,3 billion euros, including more than 18 billion from other countries in Europe, nearly all of which are members of the EU.

This diagram represents the key economic sectors in luxembourg

Luxembourg is distinguished in particular in the following 12 sectors:

  • logistics
  • aerospace
  • automobile equipment
  • finance
  • high technology
  • intellectual property
  • research and development
  • life sciences
  • company headquarters
  • clean technologies
  • information and communication technologies
  • river and maritime transport.

Last update