Transport in transit

Customs transit is a customs procedure allowing the transport of goods between two points in the European Union (EU) customs territory, via another customs territory or between two or more different customs territories.

It allows a temporary suspension of duties and taxes due on importation.

The following transit systems are the most commonly used in the EU:

  • common Transit and Union Transit
  • TIR Customs Transit, with the use of a TIR Carnet.

The use of the New Computerized Transit System (NCTS) is mandatory for both external and internal Union and common transits. Customs duties and other taxes applicable to goods are temporarily suspended when these goods are released for common/Union transit. In order to ensure the payment of duties, the holder of the procedure is required to provide a guarantee.

Common Transit

Common Transit results from the implementation of international conventions between the EU and the other countries participating in these conventions:

  • the member countries of the European Free Trade Association (EFTA): Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein, Switzerland
  • Turkey
  • the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia
  • Serbia.

The Common Transit procedure (T1 for non-Union goods and T2 for Union goods) is used to transport goods under duties and taxes suspension between the EU and the common transit countries, and between the common transit countries themselves.

For example: electronic components from China are sent by truck under T1/Common Transit from Germany to their destination in Switzerland. The Common Transit procedure is used to transport goods directly to a customs office inside Switzerland, without having to present goods to customs at the Swiss border.

Union Transit

Union Transit is a suspensive customs procedure whose rules are defined by the Union Customs Code. Union Transit is applicable to movements of goods from one point in the EU to another. Its use is extended to movements of goods with Andorra and the Republic of San Marino, following special agreements made with these territories.

There are different cases of Union transit:

  • external Union Transit (T1) is used to transport non-Union goods between the Member States of the EU (and Andorra and the Republic of San Marino) under duties and taxes suspension

For example: bananas from Brazil are transported by truck under T1/Union Transit from Luxembourg to their destination in Paris  

  • internal Union Transit (T2) is used to transport Union goods between Member States of the European Union crossing one or more EFTA countries (and Andorra and the Republic of San Marino) under duties and taxes suspension

For example: cloth is sent by truck under T2/Union Transit from Germany to its destination in Italy. The goods may cross Swiss territory: the transit ends at the competent customs office in Italy

  • internal Union Transit (T2F) is used to transport Union goods between Member States of the European Union and the special territories of the EU such as the French Overseas Departments, the Channel Islands, Mount Athos and the Aland Islands or the Canary Islands.

For example: bananas from Martinique are moved by vessel to Antwerp and then are transported further by road under T2F/Union Transit from Antwerp to their final destination in Paris.

TIR (Transports Internationaux Routiers) transit

The TIR system results from the implementation of an international convention between the signatory countries. At 21 January 2016, 69 countries are part of the TIR Convention, including the 28 Member States of the EU.

In practice, the use of the TIR system is accompanied by a TIR Carnet composed of a cover, a manifesto and a variable number of sheets according to the needs (two sheets per country of transit).

The TIR Carnet allows to move goods between countries that are part of the TIR Convention. The Carnet is presented to local customs offices at each border passage without having to complete other customs procedures.

The TIR Carnet is reserved for road transport.  Alcohols and tobaccos cannot be transported under a TIR Carnet.

Related procedures

The procedures explaining how to proceed are available on the Guichet.lu website:

Last update

Transport en transit

Le transit douanier est une procédure douanière permettant le transport de marchandises entre deux points du territoire douanier de l’Union européenne (UE), via un autre territoire douanier ou entre deux ou plusieurs territoires douaniers différents.

Il permet une suspension temporaire des droits et taxes dus à l'importation.

Dans l'UE les systèmes de transit les plus couramment utilisés sont :

  • le transit commun et le transit de l’Union
  • le transit douanier TIR, avec utilisation d’un carnet TIR.

L’utilisation du système NSTI (Nouveau Système de Transit Informatisé) est obligatoire à la fois pour le transit commun et le transit de l'Union. Les droits de douane et autres taxes applicables aux marchandises sont temporairement suspendus quand les marchandises sont placées en regime de transit. Enfin de garantir le paiement des droits, le titulaire du régime doit mettre en place d’une garantie.

Le transit commun

Le transit commun résulte de la mise en œuvre d’accords internationaux entre l’UE et les autres pays participant à ces accords :

  • les pays membres de l’Accord Européen de Libre Echange (AELE) : Islande, Norvège, Liechtenstein et Suisse
  • la Turquie
  • l’ancienne République yougoslave de Macédoine
  • la Serbie.

Le régime de transit commun (T1 pour les marchandises non Union et T2 pour les marchandises de l’Union) permet de transporter des marchandises en suspension de droits et taxes entre l’UE et les pays du transit commun, ainsi que entre les pays du transit commun eux-mêmes.

Exemple : des composants électroniques d’origine Chine sont expédiés par camion sous T1/transit commun depuis l’Allemagne à destination de la Suisse. L’utilisation du transit commun permet de transporter la marchandise directement vers le bureau de douane intérieur en Suisse, sans avoir à la présenter en douane à la frontière suisse.

Le transit de l’Union

Le transit de l’Union est un régime douanier suspensif dont les modalités sont définies par le Code des douanes de l’Union et qui s’applique aux mouvements de biens d'un point de l’UE à un autre. Son utilisation est étendue aux mouvements de biens avec Andorre et la République de Saint-Marin, suite à des accords particuliers convenus avec ces territoires.

Différents cas de transit de l'Union se présentent :

  • le régime de transit externe de l’Union (T1) permet de transporter des marchandises non Union entre les Etats membres de l’UE (et Andorre et la République de Saint-Marin) en suspension de droits et taxes

Exemple : des bananes d’origine brésilienne sont transportées par camion sous T1/transit de l’Union depuis le Luxembourg à destination de Paris  

  • le régime de transit interne de l’Union (T2) permet de transporter des marchandises de l’Union entre Etats membres de l’UE en traversant un ou plusieurs pays de l’AELE (et Andorre et la République de Saint-Marin) en suspension de droits et taxes.

Exemple : des tissus sont expédiés par camion sous T2/transit de l’Union depuis l’Allemagne à destination de l’Italie. Ils peuvent traverser le territoire suisse : le transit prend fin au bureau de douane compétent en Italie.

  • le régime de transit interne de l’Union (T2F) permet de transporter des marchandises de l’Union entre les Etats membres de l’UE et les territoires fiscaux spéciaux de l’UE tels que les Départements français d’Outre-Mer, les îles Anglo-Normandes, le Mont Athos, les îles d'Aland ou les îles Canaries.

Exemple : des bananes d’origine martiniquaise sont expédiées par bateau à Anvers puis transportées par route sous T2F/transit de l’Union depuis Anvers vers leur destination finale à Paris.

Le Transit International Routier (TIR)

Le système TIR résulte de la mise en œuvre d’un accord international entre les pays signataires. Au 21 janvier 2016, 69 pays font partie de l’accord TIR, dont les 28 Etats membres de l’UE.

En pratique, l’utilisation du TIR est matérialisée par un carnet TIR composé d'une couverture, d'un manifeste et d'un nombre de feuillets variable selon les besoins (2 feuillets par pays de transit).

Le carnet TIR permet de transporter des marchandises entre les pays faisant partie de l’accord TIR. Il est présenté aux douanes locales à chaque passage de frontière sans avoir à réaliser d’autres formalités douanières.

Le carnet TIR est réservé au transport par route. Les alcools et tabacs ne peuvent pas être transportés sous carnet TIR.

Démarches liées

Les démarches expliquant la procédure à suivre sont disponibles sur le site du Guichet.lu :

Dernière mise à jour